Mint 18/19 And Canon Color Laser All In One

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Zulu95
Level 1
Level 1

Mint 18/19 And Canon Color Laser All In One

Post by Zulu95 »

I have been running a Canon MF8280Cw in Mint 17 for a few years and had very few problems with the network printing feature. Then I upgraded one of the computers to Mint 18 about a year ago. I have been fighting with it ever since. I have got it to print twice in that time. Most times it fires the printer up and makes all the right noises at the printer end and I get the notifications that the jobs was sent and printed at the computer end but nothing hits the out tray.
Now I installed Mint 19 on another computer and the same baloney! What is it with Mint and printers? I'm not a programmer and I have attempted to follow a number of fixes reported online but no printed matter yet! I have installed and reinstalled the Canon drivers, I have gone through the CUPS install process, I even attempted to copy/paste the address from my 17.2 computer to see if that would work.
Why is it that such an high power OS has so many printing problems?
The older Win Vista and the Mint 17.2 machines still print without a problem.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
pdc_2
Level 10
Level 10

Canon MF8280CW needs UFR 3.5 driver from Canon

Post by pdc_2 »

so if I was installing the Canon driver for this device, I would go here https://www.canon-europe.com/support/co ... anguage=EN (Canon Europe site as the Canon Asia site is temporarily down .......)

I would click to download and SAVE what is UFR II/UFRII LT Printer Driver for Linux V3.50 released 19th March 2018; 4 months ago

It comes down as linux-UFRII-drv-v350-uken.tar.gz