Help Please! Konica Minolta bizhub 283

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
lenny01

Help Please! Konica Minolta bizhub 283

Post by lenny01 »

Hi Everybody,

I'm hoping against hope that somebody can help me!

I am VERY new to linux - basically installed it on account of being constantly badgered to do so by a friend to shut him up. Infuriatingly, I actually really love it so far - apart from a bit of coding knowledge seems a prerequisite for effective use of it - of which I have zero!

I have a Konica Minolta bizhub 283 that works perfectly on my other windows 7 machine - but I cannot for the life of me get it to print on Linux Mint. It seems to be installed on the network, and when I send something to print, the printer lights up, and the data light flashes for 30 seconds or so, but then stops. Linux then throws up a notification saying that the printing has completed.

The system and the printer are obviously talking to each other but the end result is just not there!

I know I probably haven't given enough information for anybody to diagnose efficiently but is there anybody out there who has an inkling of what I'm doing wrong please?

Many thanks in advance!

Very frustrated Lenny.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
jimallyn
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Help Please! Konica Minolta bizhub 283

Post by jimallyn »

There are PPDs and drivers available here:

https://www.konicaminolta.eu/en/busines ... loads.html

That is apparently a PostScript printer, and should work with just about any operating system. I forget how to install a PPD. ...

Ah, there are instructions here:

https://manuals.konicaminolta.eu/ineo-4 ... topic.html

Good luck. If you can't get it going, report back. Almost certainly somebody will be able to help you further.