Canon Lide 120 works in LM19 not in LM18.2

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
Pastcal
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 12:06 pm

Canon Lide 120 works in LM19 not in LM18.2

Post by Pastcal » Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:32 am

I have a Canon Lide 120 which works under Linux Mint 19 Xfce 64bit, Simple Scan 3.28.0, but not under Linux Mint 18.2 Xfce 64bit, Simple Scan 3.20.0 or Gscan2pdf 1.3.9. The symptoms are the same in both, the scanner activates but the page fills with black. Brightness adjustments have no effect. It seems that some lower level component needs to be updated. Any advice please. Thanks.

[Edit] It looks like the lower level component is sane-utils. On the LM19 system the version is 1.0.27-1, whereas on the LM18.2 the version is 1.0.25. If I remove the 1.0.25 version using the Software Manager in LM18.2 will I be able to replace it with 1.0.27?

carum carvi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Canon Lide 120 works in LM19 not in LM18.2

Post by carum carvi » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:46 am

You can always try. I have tried using another version of a videoplayer. It worked better, but it didnt get updates and it didnt blend into the system. But if you really want to use LM18.2, I dont think it could hurt just to try and get an updated version.

tanmann
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Canon Lide 120 works in LM19 not in LM18.2

Post by tanmann » Sat Aug 11, 2018 4:16 pm

Hmm, I run the same LM 18.2 Xfce and I do not have that file loaded as you. I have this --
"sane-backends (1.0.25+git20150528-1ubuntu"
I am able to use the Canon 120 and 220.
This might sound offensive, but can you try it with a Windows machine?
I also had a situation with a Lide 220 on an LM 18.1 laptop where I had a black page, but it turned out that I had the page-to-be-scanned WRONG SIDE UP!
Too much wodka...

User avatar
Tomgin5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 819
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:37 pm
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Re: Canon Lide 120 works in LM19 not in LM18.2

Post by Tomgin5 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 5:45 pm

Mine works fine on LM 18.3 64 cinnamon with simple scan. :D

Post Reply

Return to “Printers & Scanners”