[Given up] Adding a network printer

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
pdc_2
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2418
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:21 am

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by pdc_2 » Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:08 pm

the posts in Mint are not numbered;

but in post #3 if one counts from the beginning I said
so HP say this printer needs a plug-in;
it is all back there

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:38 am

Installed it, but it didn't help.
I thought it was installed, but hp-check revealed it wasn't, so I installed it.

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 4:46 am

BTW, The HP device manager says:
HPLIP cannot detect printers in your network.
This may be due to existing firewall settings blocking the required ports. When you are in a trusted network environment, you may open the ports for network services like mdns and slp in the firewall. For detailed steps follow the link. http://hplipopensource.com/node/375
When I try to search printers.
Which firewall is Mint (17.7) use by default, and is it ON by default?

Code: Select all

# ufw status verbose
Status: inactive
I installed ufw, since there seemed to be no firewall manipulation programs installed by default. At least "man -k firewall" didn't find any.

And is reboot needed after installing hplip?
"netstat -lntu" shows that the ports 5353 and 427 are not listened.
Port 5353 is there in the listing, but 427 is not.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2506
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by AndyMH » Sun Aug 26, 2018 6:06 am

gufw is the GUI front end for ufw, install from software manager.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:13 am

Installed that too.

Also, should there be open UDP ports? Especially, if the firewall is insctive?

Code: Select all

$ nmap -T4 -A localhost

Starting Nmap 6.40 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2018-08-26 13:56 EEST
Nmap scan report for localhost (127.0.0.1)
Host is up (0.00064s latency).
Not shown: 995 closed ports
PORT      STATE SERVICE     VERSION
80/tcp    open  http        Apache httpd 2.4.7 ((Ubuntu))
|_http-title: Apache2 Ubuntu Default Page: It works
139/tcp   open  netbios-ssn Samba smbd 3.X (workgroup: T400)
445/tcp   open  netbios-ssn Samba smbd 3.X (workgroup: T400)
631/tcp   open  ipp         CUPS 1.7
| http-methods: Potentially risky methods: PUT
|_See http://nmap.org/nsedoc/scripts/http-methods.html
| http-robots.txt: 1 disallowed entry 
|_/
|_http-title: Home - CUPS 1.7.2
33354/tcp open  unknown

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:26 am

What the ...
The hplip just started working by itself?
I did nothing, but it suddenly started to find the printer...
(well, I did some port scanning, but that shouldn't have any effects.)

Now what's left is figuring out if the name can be used instead of IP.

Hmm, if there are no printers, the HP device manager doesn't seem to find anything (if started from icon).
But run from command line 'hp-setup -i' seems to work. After that the HP device manager (even if started from the icon) finds that.
It can't show the colour levels, though.

pdc_2
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2418
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:21 am

plug-in HP Color Laserjet Pro M277dw

Post by pdc_2 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:55 pm

good work; working away on your own computer pays dividends;

I was curious where you got

Code: Select all

hp-setup -i
from; (I see now it means interactive);

if one does

Code: Select all

man hp-setup
in the terminal; and full-page it to read, there are a host of options to explore;

let us know when you think the printer is behaving as it should; and so let us know when you think the problem is resolved; (after installing the plug-in, a reboot may be needed to get all the stars aligned);

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:03 pm

Status update:

Hplip works partly. It detects the printer, and the 'print settings' and 'printer control' seems to work.
What doesn't work is 'status' and 'supplies'.
On both pages it says "information not available for this device".
The 3.16.x on my Debian machine everything works, but it's from the backports-repo.

The printer still uses static IP and was added by IP.

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: plug-in HP Color Laserjet Pro M277dw

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:05 pm

pdc_2 wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:55 pm
good work; working away on your own computer pays dividends;

I was curious where you got

Code: Select all

hp-setup -i
from; (I see now it means interactive);

if one does

Code: Select all

man hp-setup
in the terminal; and full-page it to read, there are a host of options to explore;

let us know when you think the printer is behaving as it should; and so let us know when you think the problem is resolved; (after installing the plug-in, a reboot may be needed to get all the stars aligned);

hp-setup --help
hp-makeuri --help
hp-probe --help
and especially:
hp-toolbox --help (gives a nice list of hp-commands)

The boot wasn't needed, but something else seemed to take time.

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:17 pm

In this adventure, also nmap became a friend. ;-)
(and also nmapsi4 - gui for nmap)

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:25 pm

I guess Mint people should get a bit worried, if Debian has newer hplip than Mint. :-D

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:27 pm

Status update:

It may be that adding this printer by name is not possible. I found another URI-form, but it didn't work with this printer.

Code: Select all

hp:/net/Color_LaserJet_MFP_M277dw?zc=NPIB88B68
Also tried

Code: Select all

hp:/net/Color_LaserJet_MFP_M277dw?serial=NPIB88B68
but it didn't work either.

Also hplip-3.17.11 doesn't seem to work properly. Using the manual setup ("hp-setup -i" and using the IP) got the printer installed, and it prints, but the GUI can't get any info from the printer. The embedded web server works fine, though.

User avatar
turboscrew
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: Adding a network printer

Post by turboscrew » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:01 pm

It looks like it's time to give up, and settle for static IP...

Post Reply

Return to “Printers & Scanners”