HP ENVY 4504 unable to scan in Cinnamon 18.3 through Wireless Direct

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
tjlewis84

HP ENVY 4504 unable to scan in Cinnamon 18.3 through Wireless Direct

Post by tjlewis84 »

Hello Everyone,

Before I begin, I would like to state the following:

I am new to Linux. Please be gentle with me.

OK. Here's the background to my little problem:

I have Linux Mint Cinnamon version 18.3 (32-bit) installed on a Sony Vaio VGN-BZ11MN Laptop and a HP ENVY 4504 All-in-one printer that I would like to use through HP's Wireless Direct connection with this laptop (the USB cable is connected to our desktop machine). I have been able to connect to the printer through the printer's Wireless Direct function (i.e. there are no routers in use) without problem.

I installed the HPLIP packages from the Linux Mint Software Manager. I then went to the Printers App and installed the printer as a network printer. The app managed to pick up the printer all by itself and I went through the installation without any issues. This done, I am able to print to the printer through the Wireless Direct connection all I want to and am very happy with the results.

My problem is, I am not able to scan through the Wireless Direct connection.

I have Simple Scan and XSane installed and if I open either of these programs, I am told that they cannot find any scanner devices.

I then discovered, and opened the HPLIP Toolbox program and noticed that the printer was not listed in there (It seems I have version 3.16.3 of HPLIP). If I try to install a new printer through HPLIP, however, it seems that it cannot pick up the printer over the Wireless Direct connection (I constantly get a No Devices Found message).

Things I have tried (but have not been successful) include:

> Entering the IP address of the HP ENVY in HPLIP.
> Entering the Network Name of the HP ENVY in HPLIP.