Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Roquefort
Level 1
Level 1

Problem installing printer: Canon Laser Shot LBP 1120 [Solved]

Post by Roquefort »

Hi all,

I have been trying to install a canon printer without much progress. I've done research on google (and on the forum) but have not been able to find/implement the right solution. Would really appreciate any help you can provide.

I am fairly new to Linux and do not have experience with using the command prompt. I have been a windows user for my whole life. Please keep this in mind.

Some backround info:
  • system: Mint 19.1 Tessa 64bit
  • printer: Canon Laser Shot LBP 1120
So far I have tried the following:
  1. Downloaded the official canon driver from Canon's website, "CAPT Printer Driver for Linux V2.71"
  2. Extracted the folder from the downloaded file: linux-capt-drv-v271-uken.tar.gz
  3. From the folder ran the executable .deb packages: linux-capt-drv-v271-uken/64-bit Driver/Debian/cndrvcups-capt_2.71-1_amd64.deb and cndrvcups-common_3.21-1_amd64.deb
  4. From the Mint start menu opened the "printers" tool
  5. Added new printer and searched manually for the driver from usr/share/cups/model/CNCUPSLBP1120CAPTJ.ppd
  6. Restarted computer and tried using the newly added printer, a printing job was added to the que but it disappeared after a few seconds and nothing was printed :(
  7. Also tried restarting the printer, did not help.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by Roquefort on Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kester
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Problem installing printer: Canon Laser Shot LBP 1120

Post by Kester »

Hi Roquefort,

Is your printer recognized when you try to print a file (i.e. does it listed in the print settings window)? If you open 'Printers' in the main menu (in xfce versions it is listed in the 'System' section) is it listed and enabled (confirmed with a tick)? How does your printer connect to your computer (e.g. is via usb, wifi etc.)?