CUPS dependency and hplip SOLVED

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
jannister
Level 1
Level 1

CUPS dependency and hplip SOLVED

Post by jannister »

Hi there
I'm new to Linux and my experience with pc's goes back to DOS days. (remember the Sinclair ZX 81?) I'm trying to solve a problem with my new HP deskjet 2320. I keep getting a message about CUPS dependency not being installed when I run "sh hplip-3.20.11.run" from a terminal. I know that CUPS is there but nothing I do solves the problem. Looking at the list of CUPS packages via the synaptics package manager I can see that some elements have a red spiral next to the square box on the left hand side. Can anyone tell me what this symbol means before I press on with the problem?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
antikythera
Level 15
Level 15

Re: CUPS dependency and hplip

Post by antikythera »

Which release version of Mint or LMDE are you using? You may be running something too old to provide the CUPS library version required.
A red spiral is the Debian logo by the way
I’ll tell you a DNS joke but be advised, it could take up to 24 hours for everyone to get it.
jannister
Level 1
Level 1

Post by jannister »

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. I'm using Mint 19.2. My old HP printer used to work fine before it got into a mess so I bought a non-wifi low end printer/scanner to get me out of a hole for the time being. The CUPS spooler message started to appear before my old printer had a melt down.
Moem
Level 22
Level 22

Post by Moem »

Hello Jannister, I've moved your topic out of the Chat area, because it seems to me that you'd actually like some help and that's not what Chat is about.
Best of luck, and welcome!