beginners driver for hp p 1102w

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
robertdwhite
Level 1
Level 1

beginners driver for hp p 1102w

Post by robertdwhite »

I am new to the mint community though not to computers so please speak in beginners terms or expect follow up to you childish questions . Thank you for understanding. I have installed mint 20.1 and done all updates in an inspirion 15 7548. I have read and done all of the purported fixes I ve found available on the net. My computer still does not show the 1102 available either wireless or when usb connected. I installed the 1102 available thru cups but when run I get a hplip error. The answer, I understand may be that it is not possible, but I had to give it one more try. I do love my little 1102. Thank you for considering my problem and any assistance you can offer.
Rob
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
pdc_2
Level 10
Level 10

Re: beginners driver for hp p 1102w

Post by pdc_2 »

Hi Rob;

welcome to the forum
1102.png
HP would say this device needs a plug-in; https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-imag ... anguage=it

Its name there is "HP LaserJet Professional p1102 Printer"

we have evolved into a driverless era, where hplip is often not needed; but I suspect the plug-in is still needed;

if you try

Code: Select all

hp-plug-in
in a terminal; I wonder if that alone will get the system to reach out and get the appropriate plug-in needed; for the version of hplip that Mint has already installed; the page says your printer needs 3.12 at least; the latest version is up to 3.20 so you don't need to install any absolutely new version;