Need help installing Epson WF-3520 printer driver - SOLVED!

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
UltraNewbie
Level 1
Level 1

Need help installing Epson WF-3520 printer driver - SOLVED!

Post by UltraNewbie »

I am an absolute newbie to anything involving command lines or installing anything that's not straight from the built-in Software Manager.

System info: Kernel: 5.4.0-91-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 5.2.7
wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 20.3 Una base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal

So at http://download.ebz.epson.net I searched for the Linux driver and got this list (with a "Download" button to the right of each file):

File name File size
epson-inkjet-printer-201212w-1.0.0-1lsb3.2.i486.rpm 1.61 MB
epson-inkjet-printer-201212w_1.0.0-1lsb3.2_i386.deb 1.61 MB
epson-inkjet-printer-201212w-1.0.0-1lsb3.2.x86_64.rpm 1.64 MB
epson-inkjet-printer-201212w_1.0.0-1lsb3.2_amd64.deb 1.64 MB
epson-inkjet-printer-201212w-1.0.0-1lsb3.2.src.rpm 2.17 MB

Great. Now what? Do I download all of these? Or just one? If one, which one?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 5 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
pdc_2
Level 10
Level 10

Re: Need help installing Epson WF-3520 printer driver

Post by pdc_2 »

so that device is airprint-compatible; so it should not need an epson driver; Mint may have set it up already: are there any icons in your PRINTERS folder already?

is the printer set up as wifi to your router?

does it show up on

Code: Select all

driverless
and

lpinfo -v
... so you need to open a terminal; (black tv screen by menu icon); paste the commands into the terminal; (right-click at the flashing icon in the terminal, and select paste from the option)

or use control-shift-v keys ...... and copy is control-shift-c .............. easy??
UltraNewbie
Level 1