(SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Clawds

(SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Clawds »

Hello, recently i have bought new wifi usb (TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus) to replace my inboard wifi adapter that broke, But i couldnt figure out how to install the driver, anyone here can help me?

also sorry for my bad english, Thanks!
Last edited by Clawds on Wed Dec 11, 2019 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13880
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by JeremyB »

Post results from terminal for

Code: Select all

lsusb; rfkill list; mokutil --sb-state
Clawds

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Clawds »

It show this

Bus 002 Device 003: ID 1058:25e1 Western Digital Technologies, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 2109:0817 VIA Labs, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 013: ID 13d3:3490 IMC Networks
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0bda:57de Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 2109:0102 VIA Labs, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 014: ID 2717:ff88
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 2109:2817 VIA Labs, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 015: ID 2357:0120
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 258a:0016
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 046d:c21d Logitech, Inc. F310 Gamepad [XInput Mode]
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c084 Logitech, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 214b:7000
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
1: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
SecureBoot disabled
Platform is in Setup Mode
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13880
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by JeremyB »

Code: Select all

sudo apt install git build-essential dkms
git clone https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au.git
cd rtl8812au
sudo ./dkms-install.sh
Reboot
Clawds

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Clawds »

Okay, gonna try it
Clawds

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Clawds »

Thanks sir, it work! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Also can you tell me how to disable the inboard wifi adapter?
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13880
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by JeremyB »

Post results for

Code: Select all

lspci -nnk | grep -iA3 net
I suspect either Broadcom or Atheros
Clawds

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Clawds »

Atheros

02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [10ec:8168] (rev 10)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [1043:200f]
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0036] (rev 01)
Subsystem: AzureWave QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter [1a3b:218d]
Kernel driver in use: ath9k
Kernel modules: ath9k
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13880
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by JeremyB »

Code: Select all

echo "blacklist ath9k" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf
sudo modprobe -r ath9k
That should do it
Clawds

Re: TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Clawds »

Thanks :D
Ouax00

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Ouax00 »

Hello i have the same issue, with the same exact adapter.
Trying to copy past the exact codes but it dosen't solve the problem, also the link towards the Drive is not working anymore i think.
I really would appreciate ur help guys :) :) :)
Thank u in advanced
VB version 6.1
don54321

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by don54321 »

I just found a solution a few days ago for my T2U Plus. I think it is the same drivers. The Plus has a big antenna. I can't tell you much other than it works.

Below installs drivers for TP-Link T2U Plus

sudo apt install git dkms
git clone https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au.git
cd rtl8812au
sudo ./dkms-install.sh
sudo modprobe 88XXau

Regards,
Don
Ouax00

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Ouax00 »

thank you soooooo mcuh, it really worked and i got exactly the result i wanted
YOU ROCK BRO :) :) :)
telijah

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by telijah »

I followed these steps and am not getting the wifi to work. I suspect it may be due to the age of this old PC I put Mint on... Anyone able to further help? The modprobe command fails saying "modprobe: ERROR: could not insert '88XXau': Exec format error".
aguerra

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by aguerra »

don54321 wrote: Mon May 25, 2020 6:02 pm I just found a solution a few days ago for my T2U Plus. I think it is the same drivers. The Plus has a big antenna. I can't tell you much other than it works.

Below installs drivers for TP-Link T2U Plus

sudo apt install git dkms
git clone https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au.git
cd rtl8812au
sudo ./dkms-install.sh
sudo modprobe 88XXau

Regards,
Don
Thanks a lot! This driver worked for my Archer T2U AC600 Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter https://www.tp-link.com/co/home-network ... rcher-t2u/ on Linux Mint 20 “Ulyana” Cinnamon Edition
User avatar
alan2001
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:30 am
Location: Scotland

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by alan2001 »

don54321 wrote: Mon May 25, 2020 6:02 pm I just found a solution a few days ago for my T2U Plus. I think it is the same drivers. The Plus has a big antenna. I can't tell you much other than it works.

Below installs drivers for TP-Link T2U Plus

sudo apt install git dkms
git clone https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au.git
cd rtl8812au
sudo ./dkms-install.sh
sudo modprobe 88XXau

Regards,
Don
Hey Don,

I'm also going to jump on the bandwagon here and say thanks for this. As soon as I typed in that last command the device started blinking its little green eye at me, lol. I really must save this in my Mint installation guide.

Very happy with this, ta very much. :mrgreen:
User avatar
GaryCN
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:13 am
Location: Detroit

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by GaryCN »

Thanks I now have the TP Link AC600 T2U Pluis working on Linux Mint 20.0 64b.
Gary
Linux Mint 19.2 -Cinnamon 64-bit
Not really new to Linux my first install was Linspire Five-O in early 2006. Also, have just about every Raspberry Pi version 512MB, B+512, A+256, Pi 2 Model B 1GB, Pi 3 Model B 1GB
semiviking
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2020 12:04 pm

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by semiviking »

So my built in wireless driver dropped out when installing Linux mint, and now have bought an TP link AC600 USB wireless adaptor. I've tried some of the codes to install the driver for it, but i'm getting errors now and not sure how to progress. I started with:

sudo apt install git build-essential dkms
git clone https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au.git
cd rtl8812au

then subsequently get:

sudo ./dkms-install.sh
sudo: ./dkms-install.sh: command not found

sudo modprobe 88XXau
modprobe: FATAL: Module 88XXau not found in directory /lib/modules/5.3.0-26-generic

Any help is greatly appreciated!!
User avatar
Larry78723
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5476
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Larry78723 »

Please start your own thread and include details as described in the link at the top of forum "how to get help" #5,
Image
If you have found the solution to your initial post, please open your original post, click on the pencil, and add (Solved) to the Subject, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Le_Petit

Re: (SOLVED) TP-LINK Archer T2U (AC600) Plus

Post by Le_Petit »

semiviking wrote: Sat Nov 07, 2020 12:26 pm So my built in wireless driver dropped out when installing Linux mint, and now have bought an TP link AC600 USB wireless adaptor. I've tried some of the codes to install the driver for it, but i'm getting errors now and not sure how to progress. I started with:

sudo apt install git build-essential dkms
git clone https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au.git
cd rtl8812au

then subsequently get:

sudo ./dkms-install.sh
sudo: ./dkms-install.sh: command not found

sudo modprobe 88XXau
modprobe: FATAL: Module 88XXau not found in directory /lib/modules/5.3.0-26-generic

Any help is greatly appreciated!!
try to use : "sudo make dkms_install" instead of "sudo: ./dkms-install.sh" . It worked for me (it will take a little time to install)
Locked

Return to “Networking”