[Solved] WiFi non functional!

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

[Solved] WiFi non functional!

Post by jbh911 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:55 pm

Running LM 18.3 Mate 64 bit. Last use WiFi 3 weeks ago. Needed to use WiFi yesterday ... and no live WiFi site showing up, that area all shaded!! Couldn't achieve establishing a new WiFi connection. Dead as a dodo!
Chip is OK as WiFi functional with a live LM 19 USB stick
It's a Medion Akoya with an acer motherboard. Reference to rfkill in log.
$ rfkill list
0: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: yes
2: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
I've run JeremyB's Wireless script followed by
cat wireless-info.txt | nc termbin.com 9999
The URL produced is:
http://termbin.com/6su5
Unsure if it's something I've done or the result of an update. Looking forward to getting WiFi functional again. :)
Last edited by jbh911 on Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
trytip
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1849
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: WiFi non functional!

Post by trytip » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:48 pm

EDIT:
Last edited by trytip on Sat Aug 11, 2018 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: WiFi non functional!

Post by jbh911 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:29 am

Looking like I'll have to do a DVD install of LM 19 to get WiFi functional again. Have been down this path before and resolved the same way.
Cheers :D

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3529
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: WiFi non functional!

Post by deepakdeshp » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:30 am

If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: [Solved] WiFi non functional!

Post by jbh911 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:17 pm

Thanks deepakdeshp very much for the heads up. Fixed with one line of code - which removes a soft block permanently. Amazing.

Following fix ran JeremyB's wireless script etc and the URL is http://termbin.com/9ewg so those interested in comparing the before and after. The 1st URL is mentioned in initial post
:D

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”