Cant connect via Wi-Fi

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
kosmai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:03 pm

Cant connect via Wi-Fi

Post by kosmai » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:19 pm

Hello,
I am a new user of the linux os. I installed linux mint 19 MATE yesterday on my new laptop making a new partition for it. Problem is, without an externat wifi USB like the ones netgear sells, i have no wifi. However I was able to establish a connection using ethernet. To be more specific: On the taskbar, on its right side, i see rectangle with a small "x" on its down-right corner. When I click on it there are no wifi options shown, as I have seen on videos and such. Any ideas on how to fix this? Here are some info:
64-bit arch
Result of lnxi -Fxz:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: kostis-HP-Laptop Kernel: 4.15.0-34-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: HP product: HP Laptop 15-bw0xx v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: N/A
           Mobo: HP model: 8333 v: 28.32 serial: N/A
           UEFI: Insyde v: F.21 date: 11/17/2017
Battery    BAT1: charge: 3.9 Wh 9.3% condition: 41.9/41.6 Wh (101%)
           model: Hewlett-Packard PABAS0241231 status: Charging
CPU:       Quad core AMD A12-9720P RADEON R7 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G (-MCP-) 
           arch: Excavator rev.1 cache: 4096 KB
           
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 21558
           clock speeds: max: 2700 MHz 1: 1460 MHz 2: 1410 MHz 3: 1539 MHz
           4: 1497 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Carrizo bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Topaz XT [Radeon R7 M260/M265 / M340/M360 / M440/M445]
           bus-ID: 05:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: ati,amdgpu (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,radeon)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.10hz
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon R7 Graphics (CARRIZO / DRM 3.23.0 / 4.15.0-34-generic, LLVM 6.0.0)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 157a
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:09.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-34-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek Device d723 port: 3000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
           Card-3: Realtek RTL8192CU 802.11n WLAN Adapter usb-ID: 002-006
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (1.7% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST1000LM035 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 436G used: 16G (4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 65.0C mobo: 20.0C gpu: N/A,62.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 215 Uptime: 2:46 Memory: 898.4/5549.0MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 

_________________________________________________
Last edited by Moem on Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Swapped the [c] tags out for [code] tags; the code tags retain some formatting that makes your output easier to read.

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9293
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Cant connect via Wi-Fi

Post by JeremyB » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:48 pm


kosmai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:03 pm

Re: Cant connect via Wi-Fi

Post by kosmai » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:51 am

Ok, we have some news here. I did what the post you told me to go to suggested and I do indeed have a "wireless" option now. However it says "unavailable" and no networks are scanned. I went ahead and created a connection using the SSID and WPA2 key password. The connection was successful but really unstable, in fact so unstable I was rarely able to log in the forums. Being frustrated by this and many other minor issues I decided to switch to an older version of mint: LInux Mint 18.3 CInnamon, and I really like it better. Thing is that the wifi problem persisted in this version too, so i repeated all those steps (think I also had to install git, no problem there). So I am in the same spot now. Having a "wireless" option but it says "unavailable" showing 0 scanned networks around me, whereas there are many. Any more suggestions? Thanks for any advice so far.
P.S. Using windows 10 my connection to the internet was really stable, so it cant be a network card issue.
edit: P.S.2 Rescan for wireless networks does nothing

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9293
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Cant connect via Wi-Fi

Post by JeremyB » Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:54 pm

Did you happen to do the antenna test? Most people need to use the ant_sel=2 to get decent reception

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”