tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
tech86
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:08 am

tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by tech86 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 2:06 am

hi peeps i was just wondering if anyone has got this working in mint 18 yet? i tryed the live usb but doesnt work and im wanting to install mint on my pc but the usb adapter is the only thing stopping me from changing over as its the only wireless adapter i have to use :( thank you

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3935
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by deepakdeshp » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:08 am

Please verify if it has Linux driver, if nit install kernel 4.14.9 , reboot and test.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9457
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by JeremyB » Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:48 pm

With the dongle plugged in, in terminal do

Code: Select all

lsusb
Post results

tech86
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:08 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by tech86 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:07 pm

JeremyB wrote:With the dongle plugged in, in terminal do

Code: Select all

lsusb
Post results
I havent installed mint yet mate will be in a couple of days, is there any documentation on what wifi adapters are supported by mint?

m3318
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by m3318 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:14 pm

I successfully compiled and load driver of tp link t2u ac600 in linux mint 19 tara. bellow are steps :D :D :D
disconnect the dongle, you need the temporary internet connection, which i got it form my mobile usb tethering, then run these command in to your terminals one by one.

https://github.com/xtknight/mt7610u-lin ... wifi-fixes
Building
1 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
2 sudo apt-get install gcc
3 sudo apt-get install update
4 sudo apt-get install linux-source
5 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
6 sudo apt-get install build-essential
7 cd mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes-master
8 sudo make clean
9 sudo make
10 sudo make install

Building with DKMS

11 sudo apt-get install dkms
12 sudo cp -R . /usr/src/mt7610u_sta-1.0
13 sudo dkms add mt7610u_sta/1.0
14 sudo dkms build mt7610u_sta/1.0
15 sudo dkms install mt7610u_sta/1.0
16 reboot
17 reconnet the adapter
Last edited by m3318 on Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:57 pm, edited 4 times in total.

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9457
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by JeremyB » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:48 pm

m3318 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:14 pm
I successfully compiled and load driver of tp link t2u ac600 in linux mint 19 tara. bellow are steps :D :D :D

https://github.com/xtknight/mt7610u-lin ... wifi-fixes
Building
1 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
2 apt-get install update
3 sudo apt-get install update
4 sudo apt-get install linux-source
5 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
6 sudo apt-get install build-essential
7 cd mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes-master
8 sudo make clean
9 sudo make
10 sudo make install

Building with DKMS

11 sudo apt-get install dkms
12 sudo cp -R . /usr/src/mt7610u_sta-1.0
13 sudo dkms add mt7610u_sta/1.0
14 sudo dkms build mt7610u_sta/1.0
15 sudo dkms install mt7610u_sta/1.0
16 reboot
If that github actually does work, better instructions would be

Code: Select all

sudo apt install git dkms build-essential
git clone https://github.com/xtknight/mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes.git
sudo dkms add mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes
sudo dkms install mt7610u_sta/1.0
Then check EFI Secure Boot status with

Code: Select all

mokutil --sb-state
Any response other than Secure Boot is enabled should be good

User avatar
zerocoolroot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:42 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by zerocoolroot » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:38 pm

m3318 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:14 pm
I successfully compiled and load driver of tp link t2u ac600 in linux mint 19 tara. bellow are steps :D :D :D

https://github.com/xtknight/mt7610u-lin ... wifi-fixes
Building
1 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
2 sudo apt-get install gcc
3 sudo apt-get install update
4 sudo apt-get install linux-source
5 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
6 sudo apt-get install build-essential
7 cd mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes-master
8 sudo make clean
9 sudo make
10 sudo make install

Building with DKMS

11 sudo apt-get install dkms
12 sudo cp -R . /usr/src/mt7610u_sta-1.0
13 sudo dkms add mt7610u_sta/1.0
14 sudo dkms build mt7610u_sta/1.0
15 sudo dkms install mt7610u_sta/1.0
16 reboot
Sorry my bad English, I'm from Brazil..!!

I could not do with this method.

I managed with the method below:
https://github.com/ivannieto/archer-t2u ... -installer

##You should have python3 installed. If you not, type:
sudo apt install python3

##You should have git installed. If you not, type:
sudo apt install git

bash
$ git clone https://github.com/ivannieto/archer-t2u ... taller.git
$ cd archer-t2u-ubuntu-installer/ && python3 t2u-driver-installer.py

##Restart your computer when the installation is finished

##Once you had restarted, you can enable or disable the driver. Plug your USB dongle and run:

bash
$ sudo t2u-driver
## e = Enable
## d = Disable

##To uninstall t2u-driver type:

bash
$ sudo uninstall-t2u-driver
Sorry my bad English, I'm from Brazil..!!

User avatar
zerocoolroot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:42 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by zerocoolroot » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:21 am

m3318 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:14 pm
I successfully compiled and load driver of tp link t2u ac600 in linux mint 19 tara. bellow are steps :D :D :D

https://github.com/xtknight/mt7610u-lin ... wifi-fixes
Building
1 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
2 sudo apt-get install gcc
3 sudo apt-get install update
4 sudo apt-get install linux-source
5 sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
6 sudo apt-get install build-essential
7 cd mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes-master
8 sudo make clean
9 sudo make
10 sudo make install

Building with DKMS

11 sudo apt-get install dkms
12 sudo cp -R . /usr/src/mt7610u_sta-1.0
13 sudo dkms add mt7610u_sta/1.0
14 sudo dkms build mt7610u_sta/1.0
15 sudo dkms install mt7610u_sta/1.0
16 reboot
What is your kernel version..??
Sorry my bad English, I'm from Brazil..!!

m3318
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by m3318 » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:07 pm

kernel version is 4.15.0-20-generic

User avatar
zerocoolroot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:42 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by zerocoolroot » Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:40 am

m3318 wrote:
Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:07 pm
kernel version is 4.15.0-20-generic
My kernel is the same, but I could not..!!

Could you detail the method used..??

Automatically recognizes..??

Need reboot..??
Sorry my bad English, I'm from Brazil..!!

m3318
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by m3318 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:50 pm

disconnect the adapter, you need the temporary internet connection, which i got it form my mobile usb tethering, then run these command in to your terminals one by one (don't disconnect internet), after the reboot reconnect the adapter. if you don't have temporary internet connection then it is useless for you.

User avatar
zerocoolroot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:42 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by zerocoolroot » Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:08 am

m3318 wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:50 pm
disconnect the adapter, you need the temporary internet connection, which i got it form my mobile usb tethering, then run these command in to your terminals one by one (don't disconnect internet), after the reboot reconnect the adapter. if you don't have temporary internet connection then it is useless for you.
I got it. The adapter found the 2.4GHz Network, but did not find the 5GHz Network. Do you know why..??

The 2.4GHz Network signal is low..!!
Sorry my bad English, I'm from Brazil..!!

m3318
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by m3318 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:36 am

run this commad iwlist ra0 freq
o/p : 47 channels in total; available frequencies :
Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
Channel 12 : 2.467 GHz
Channel 13 : 2.472 GHz
Channel 14 : 2.484 GHz
Channel 36 : 5.18 GHz
Channel 38 : 5.19 GHz
Channel 40 : 5.2 GHz
Channel 44 : 5.22 GHz
Channel 46 : 5.23 GHz
Channel 48 : 5.24 GHz
Channel 52 : 5.26 GHz
Channel 54 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 56 : 5.28 GHz
Channel 60 : 5.3 GHz
Channel 62 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 64 : 5.32 GHz
Channel 100 : 5.5 GHz
Channel 104 : 5.52 GHz
Channel 108 : 5.54 GHz
Channel 112 : 5.56 GHz
Channel 116 : 5.58 GHz
Channel 118 : 2.412 GHz
Current Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)

that means it supports 5GHz and 2 GHz, but currently connected to frequency 2.462 GHz.

User avatar
zerocoolroot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:42 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by zerocoolroot » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:49 am

m3318 wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:36 am
run this commad iwlist ra0 freq
o/p : 47 channels in total; available frequencies :
Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
Channel 12 : 2.467 GHz
Channel 13 : 2.472 GHz
Channel 14 : 2.484 GHz
Channel 36 : 5.18 GHz
Channel 38 : 5.19 GHz
Channel 40 : 5.2 GHz
Channel 44 : 5.22 GHz
Channel 46 : 5.23 GHz
Channel 48 : 5.24 GHz
Channel 52 : 5.26 GHz
Channel 54 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 56 : 5.28 GHz
Channel 60 : 5.3 GHz
Channel 62 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 64 : 5.32 GHz
Channel 100 : 5.5 GHz
Channel 104 : 5.52 GHz
Channel 108 : 5.54 GHz
Channel 112 : 5.56 GHz
Channel 116 : 5.58 GHz
Channel 118 : 2.412 GHz
Current Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)

that means it supports 5GHz and 2 GHz, but currently connected to frequency 2.462 GHz.
32 channels in total; available frequencies :
Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
Channel 12 : 2.467 GHz
Channel 13 : 2.472 GHz
Channel 36 : 5.18 GHz
Channel 38 : 5.19 GHz
Channel 40 : 5.2 GHz
Channel 44 : 5.22 GHz
Channel 46 : 5.23 GHz
Channel 48 : 5.24 GHz
Channel 52 : 5.26 GHz
Channel 54 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 56 : 5.28 GHz
Channel 60 : 5.3 GHz
Channel 62 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 64 : 5.32 GHz
Channel 149 : 5.745 GHz
Channel 151 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 153 : 5.765 GHz
Channel 157 : 5.785 GHz
Channel 159 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 161 : 5.805 GHz
Channel 165 : 5.825 GHz
Current Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1

In Windows works fine in 5GHz..!!
Sorry my bad English, I'm from Brazil..!!

m3318
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by m3318 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:03 am

my router supports only b/g/n mode. what about you?

User avatar
zerocoolroot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:42 am

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by zerocoolroot » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:07 am

m3318 wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:03 am
my router supports only b/g/n mode. what about you?
My router supports b/g/n/ac mode..!!
Sorry my bad English, I'm from Brazil..!!

User avatar
Robynsveil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: tp-link archer t2u (ac600)

Post by Robynsveil » Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:06 am

JeremyB wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:48 pm
...
If that github actually does work, better instructions would be

Code: Select all

sudo apt install git dkms build-essential
git clone https://github.com/xtknight/mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes.git
sudo dkms add mt7610u-linksys-ae6000-wifi-fixes
sudo dkms install mt7610u_sta/1.0
Then check EFI Secure Boot status with

Code: Select all

mokutil --sb-state
Any response other than Secure Boot is enabled should be good
This approach was quick and worked a treat on Linux Mint 19 (Cinnamon) on a AMD 2600-based system. Already had git installed as well as dkms build-essentials. No EFI to be concerned with.

Thank you for sharing this approach! :)

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”