new to linux and MINT no wireless connection to airport

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
zen

new to linux and MINT no wireless connection to airport

Post by zen » Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:14 pm

greetings - I am in desperate need of help.

I am new to linux and also new to mint by about an hour. I did my homewrok but not a geek and do not know command line. I am coming from mac Os X and tried ubuntu on a newly boughten jsut for linux laptop. Installed 3 times the last 3 days and no luck for many issues and any possible resolution. so I tried mint on a suggestion from someone in the UK.

anyway I cannot get this wrieless working. It is imperative that I use this laptop via wireless only!!!

I am on an aiprot extreme. this takes a password - 'text' for macs and no issues. the 1 windows old dell that my wife uses for school work at times has a hex code which I have... but nothing works the dell is connected but this linux one won't connect

please help and do not leave me hanging.

thank you!

p.s. i just downloaded wifi radar and it says cannot get ip address...did the same in ubuntu

it also states b instead of g and it did the same in ubuntu before going to g but I am clueless and stumped... I tried everything

the computer is 3 days old

the hex code is the long set of letter and numbers that go for the wep ebcryption on pc's I am on an older linksys 4 port router and a airport extreme inside or behind that. cable modem high speed.

zen

Post by zen » Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:14 pm

i am trying to load the zipped driver in termonal but I do not know how to do the commands re: the xipped file to unzip from my desktop. could someone help please? I may have found the correct driver. Not sure. thanks.

zen

Post by zen » Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:05 pm

I do not know how to wrie the command to unzip the .exe driver from my desktop in terminal. Can someone help me out. I am stuck here at this point. thanks.

|_NiGhTmArE_|