Page 1 of 4

new to linux and MINT no wireless connection to airport

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:14 pm
by zen
greetings - I am in desperate need of help.

I am new to linux and also new to mint by about an hour. I did my homewrok but not a geek and do not know command line. I am coming from mac Os X and tried ubuntu on a newly boughten jsut for linux laptop. Installed 3 times the last 3 days and no luck for many issues and any possible resolution. so I tried mint on a suggestion from someone in the UK.

anyway I cannot get this wrieless working. It is imperative that I use this laptop via wireless only!!!

I am on an aiprot extreme. this takes a password - 'text' for macs and no issues. the 1 windows old dell that my wife uses for school work at times has a hex code which I have... but nothing works the dell is connected but this linux one won't connect

please help and do not leave me hanging.

thank you!





p.s. i just downloaded wifi radar and it says cannot get ip address...did the same in ubuntu


it also states b instead of g and it did the same in ubuntu before going to g but I am clueless and stumped... I tried everything

the computer is 3 days old


the hex code is the long set of letter and numbers that go for the wep ebcryption on pc's I am on an older linksys 4 port router and a airport extreme inside or behind that. cable modem high speed.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:14 pm
by zen
i am trying to load the zipped driver in termonal but I do not know how to do the commands re: the xipped file to unzip from my desktop. could someone help please? I may have found the correct driver. Not sure. thanks.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:05 pm
by zen
I do not know how to wrie the command to unzip the .exe driver from my desktop in terminal. Can someone help me out. I am stuck here at this point. thanks.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:54 pm
by |_NiGhTmArE_|
zen wrote:I do not know how to wrie the command to unzip the .exe driver from my desktop in terminal. Can someone help me out. I am stuck here at this point. thanks.
.exe is the extension of the executable file of windows... if you have a .exe try to open it with wine

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:14 pm
by zen
no wine - no windows....what is the command for this in terminal

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:58 am
by zen
any nibbles please? I really need to get the wirless and the sound fixed badly. It is crucial for the wireless to get fixed for using this laptop the way I want to in my home and office.

thank you very much

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:26 am
by hairy_Palms
first off if its a .exe files it not for linux i wouldnt think, try opening synaptic from the control center and installing
airport-utils
bcm43xx-fwcutter

Download this file:
http://boredklink.googlepages.com/wl_apsta.o

then run this command

Code: Select all

sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware /PATH/TO/WHERE/YOU/SAVED/DRIVER/wl_apsta.o
and then put it in the kernel folder too with this command

Code: Select all

sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/`uname -r` /PATH/TO/WHERE/YOU/SAVED/DRIVER/wl_apsta.o
youll probably need to reboot after this


if it still doesnt work eneter this command

Code: Select all

modprobe bcm43xx
and reboot again.

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:44 am
by zen
hairy_Palms wrote:first off if its a .exe files it not for linux i wouldnt think, try opening synaptic from the control center and installing
airport-utils
bcm43xx-fwcutter




i did this yesterday i belive....





Download this file:
http://boredklink.googlepages.com/wl_apsta.o


this is saved as it is to the desktop..... when I download it it says nothing to open it wit so do I save it as it is???




then run this command

Code: Select all

sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware /PATH/TO/WHERE/YOU/SAVED/DRIVER/wl_apsta.o
and then put it in the kernel folder too with this command

Code: Select all

sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/`uname -r` /PATH/TO/WHERE/YOU/SAVED/DRIVER/wl_apsta.o
youll probably need to reboot after this


if it still doesnt work eneter this command

Code: Select all

modprobe bcm43xx
and reboot again.

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:50 am
by zen
it didn't work the first command you gave me


Cannot open input file /PATH/TO/WHERE/YOU/SAVED/DRIVER/wl_apsta.o
zen@zen-linuxlaptop:~$




also if I get to that point --- in the following command that you gave me the username -r insingle quotes is that my realuser name - thanks - I told you i ws dumb and know no commnd line stuff.

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:54 am
by hairy_Palms
you need to substitute
/PATH/TO/WHERE/YOU/SAVED/DRIVER/wl_apsta.o
with wherever you download the file above,
eg /home/zen/Desktop/wl_apsta.o or whatever

noo 'uname -r' returns the name of the cureent kernel version.

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:59 am
by zen
ok when you had all those slashes in there I wasn't sure...

my fault. I apologize - I just learned not to assume anything with command line stuff or all hell breaks loose...

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:07 am
by zen
ok hold on I did it this time took me a few tries! (dumb americans, eh???? :-))))

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:11 am
by zen
ok 0 i am rebooting - thank you so very much for helping and stiking by me through this and not commenting and running away until 2 days from now....

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:17 am
by zen
Hairy ---- The light came on first time but I cannot get onto the internet....any clues - at least you helped me this far!!!!!

Cool what should i try the mod probe command??? awaiting your reply..tyhank you

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:20 am
by zen
it says in the wifiradar app I downloaded connected to K9DOG ip(NONE)


it should auto detect and I have the hecode in there the best that I know from my olde dell my wife uses. I am on airprot and airport takes text code as such or whatever you want to use - mine is just a word combination

do i have to try to find and use an ip address of or from the airport????

thank you

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:39 am
by zen
ok did the modprobe rebooted light still on no ip yet....any other suggestions.... we are on the right path...thanks

norman

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:45 am
by hairy_Palms
try running wifi-radar from the terminal to see what messages it shows

sudo wifi-radar -d

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:49 am
by zen
thanks for the reply...i am working from powerbook since the other is offline at present - the linux laptop

when I ran it it comes back with dhclient3 --version 2>&1

thank you...i mean it!!!

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:55 am
by hairy_Palms
no problem :)
i think you might need to install
wpasupplicant

[EDIT] oh and try running sudo iwconfig too[/EDIT]
to make your passwords etc work
then use wifi-radar to configure it
Image

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:57 am
by zen
Ok I am sorry - where do I get that? add and remove? please have patience

mu system is wep encrypted 128 bit


i have that - I also noticed that you have something listed under driver - I do not know of any driver info

thanks