Trying to port foward

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Sanocon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:54 am

Trying to port foward

Post by Sanocon » Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:51 pm

so ive been trying to portforward and ive been going online on how to do it, not it said i had to type 2 different ip addresses but they dont work.

i think it's because of the type of router.

its a Lynksys Wireless-G Broadband Router
from Cisco Home networking. is there a different i.p. to type in in my browser?

User avatar
mads
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to port foward

Post by mads » Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:16 am

Hi. Have you tried 192.168.1.1?
Try admin for both the username and password.

Sanocon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:54 am

Re: Trying to port foward

Post by Sanocon » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:53 pm

mads wrote:Hi. Have you tried 192.168.1.1?
Try admin for both the username and password.
ok half done but apperently 'admin' for username and password dosn't for it.

User avatar
mads
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to port foward

Post by mads » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:43 pm

Try
admin/1234
or
admin/

Sanocon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:54 am

Re: Trying to port foward

Post by Sanocon » Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:27 pm

mads wrote:Try
admin/1234
or
admin/
Hmm, nothing, do I need to contact linksys or my isp since nothing is working?

User avatar
mads
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to port foward

Post by mads » Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:37 pm

Sanocon wrote:Hmm, nothing, do I need to contact linksys or my isp since nothing is working?
Not sure about that.

The default password is usually written on the router itself.
Anyway, as a last attempt, you can try this site: Linksys Router Default Passwords - Administrator Login

If none of the combinations above work, you can try to hard reset your router.

Sanocon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:54 am

Re: Trying to port foward

Post by Sanocon » Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:52 pm

quick question, is the name of the connection to my wireless and the WEP 40 key different than the actual ip address username and password? because i tried thouse and it didnt work and will those be deleated if i reset my wireless?

User avatar
mads
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to port foward

Post by mads » Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:36 am

Sanocon wrote:quick question, is the name of the connection to my wireless and the WEP 40 key different than the actual ip address username and password? because i tried thouse and it didnt work...
Yes.
Sanocon wrote:...and will those be deleated if i reset my wireless?
Yes.

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”