Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
akshunj
Level 3
Level 3

Gnome-Network-Manager and LiveCD

Post by akshunj » Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am

First of all, Mint is pretty slick. Been using it on my desktop for a while now, and decided to install the new Bianca on my Thinkpad T40.

The LiveCD loads fine. All the bells and whistles. However, the network manager doesn't seem to connect the wireless. I've got a standard setup with 128-bit WEP, and I plug in the key, click connect, and nothing.

The good news is that I'm a linux vet, and I just pulled up the command line, used iwconfig to associate with my essid, plugged in the key, and grabbed an ip with dhclient. Life is good.

Clearly this is an issue with Gnome-Network-Manager. OR it's a permissions issue. I still can't figure out how Mint/Ubuntu lets regular users administer the system without a root password. It's WEIRD! Is that my issue?

--Akshun J

akshunj
Level 3
Level 3

more info

Post by akshunj » Sun Feb 25, 2007 4:35 pm

Did I mention that network-manager sees the wi-fi hotspot around me. It just won't connect to them. Does anyone know if this is just a Live-CD issue, or something more systemic?

Bueller?

--Akshun J

akshunj
Level 3
Level 3

Post by akshunj » Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:54 am

So, I'll conclude that gnome-network-manager is crap, and one should use wifi-radar as an alternative. Too bad. It looked good...

--Akshun J

akshunj
Level 3
Level 3

maybe not crap...

Post by akshunj » Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:19 pm

So, I think I figured out network-manager.

1. If you're using WEP, make sure you choose the proper encryption scheme from the drop-down. Passphrase, HEX, or ASCII.