[SOLVED] switching between multiple access points

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
semicolon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:26 am
Location: Netherlands

[SOLVED] switching between multiple access points

Postby semicolon » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:21 am

I have a local network with a repeater bridge in it. That means I have a network with 2 (wireless) access points, the first one is connected to the modem, the second is to extend the signal. Both are broadcasting using the same SSID. If I am upstairs with my laptop (where I usually am) I have a very poor connection with the first access point, that's what the second access point is for. All this works like a charm and I am very happy with it.

The only problem is that sometimes, out of the blue, something causes my laptop to decide to change the access point. And I am left with a very unstable internet connection. Sometimes I am able to (temporarily) change the access point back using below command, but sometimes it doesn't do anything at all.

Code: Select all

sudo iwconfig wlan0 ap <MAC ADDRESS>

What I actually want is a way to choose between the different access points manually (and then force the connection through that access point). But I am not sure if that is possible, so if you know any other solution or a way to notify me when the access point changes that would already be helpful. Thanks in advance.
Last edited by semicolon on Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:05 am, edited 2 times in total.

semicolon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:26 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: switching between multiple access points

Postby semicolon » Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:39 am

I changed the channels on which the routers are broadcasting to channel 1 and 6, so that they don't overlap any longer. It seems to have reduced the number of switches between the access points.

I also manged to let a notification show when the wireless access point changes with the script below. I run it at boot now.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

CURRENT_WLAN_AP=$(iwgetid wlan0 --ap | grep -o -E '([[:xdigit:]]{1,2}:){5}[[:xdigit:]]{1,2}')

while true; do
   NEW_WLAN_AP=$(iwgetid wlan0 --ap | grep -o -E '([[:xdigit:]]{1,2}:){5}[[:xdigit:]]{1,2}')
   if [[ "$NEW_WLAN_AP" != "$CURRENT_WLAN_AP" && "$NEW_WLAN_AP" !=  "" ]]; then
      CURRENT_WLAN_AP=$NEW_WLAN_AP
      notify-send "Access point changed to $NEW_WLAN_AP"
   fi
   sleep 10
done

But I would still prefer to force the computer to use a certain access point. Has anybody any idea?

semicolon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:26 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: switching between multiple access points

Postby semicolon » Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:59 am

New laptop arrived and it seems to have no problems whatsoever using either of the access points 8)

I can also change the access point manually with the command in my first post now, but ironically there's no need any more. Anyway, problem solved.


Return to “Wireless”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest