Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Konki
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 4:58 am

Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by Konki »

Hi,

It could be very trivial question, but I can't find it ...

In my try there is no icon for wireless network any more. I'm not sure if I've done anything wrong (don't remember doing anything with wireless). I guess it could be gone after some system updated ...
Wi-Fi is working and I can connect to the networks that has been remembered before, but I can't connect to any new one, as I don't know how to get to this configuration of wi-fi.

Could anyone help me how to get my icon back, or how to run the configuration of wi-fi from terminal / menu panel ?

Regards,
Łukasz Konkol

Code: Select all

konki@Konki-ThinkPad-T520 ~ $ sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py
[sudo] password for konki: 
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
  -- Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6205 (rev 34)
      ==> PCI ID = 8086:0085 (rev 34)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
eth0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"T2_Internet_Access"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:5.18 GHz  Access Point: 08:D0:9F:22:57:1D   
          Bit Rate=144.4 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=69/70  Signal level=-41 dBm  
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:17885  Invalid misc:57   Missed beacon:0

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr f0:de:f1:55:88:7a  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:20 Memory:f3a00000-f3a20000 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:4292 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4292 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:482441 (482.4 KB)  TX bytes:482441 (482.4 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr a0:88:b4:13:7b:1c  
          inet addr:90.132.131.87  Bcast:90.132.131.255  Mask:255.255.254.0
          inet6 addr: 2a00:801:1:a:a484:1eba:ce53:93b1/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: 2a00:801:1:a:a288:b4ff:fe13:7b1c/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::a288:b4ff:fe13:7b1c/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:123970 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:36883 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:67867408 (67.8 MB)  TX bytes:5266955 (5.2 MB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:		130.244.127.161
Address:	130.244.127.161#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.41
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.46
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.32
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.33
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.34
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.35
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.36
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.37
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.38
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.39
Name:	google.com
Address: 173.194.32.40
trapperjohn
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by trapperjohn »

does
nm-applet
work?
Konki
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 4:58 am

Re: Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by Konki »

konki@Konki-ThinkPad-T520 ~ $ nm-applet
The program 'nm-applet' can be found in the following packages:
* network-manager-gnome
* mythbuntu-diskless-client
Try: sudo apt-get install <selected package>
Should I try to install it?

Regards,
Konki
Konki
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 4:58 am

Re: Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by Konki »

Actually installing doesn't work either :(
konki@Konki-ThinkPad-T520 ~ $ sudo apt-get install nm-applet
[sudo] password for konki:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package nm-applet
trapperjohn
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by trapperjohn »

It's part of network-manager-gnome

Let's do it from synaptic. Type network-manager-gnome into the search box.


BTW when you install from the terminal run:

sudo apt-get update

prior to apt-get install ...
Konki
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 4:58 am

Re: Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by Konki »

Thank you trapperjohn. In the search box there wasn't any "network-manager-gnome", so I've installed that.
After installing I can see the wirless networks again (however I don't have icon on the right down conner, but this might need restart ...)

Thank you again.

Regards,
Łukasz Konkol
trapperjohn
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by trapperjohn »

If you don't see it on restart, nm-applet should get it going.
Konki
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 4:58 am

Re: Lost icon for wireless connection ...

Post by Konki »

I've restarted computer and it is working just fine.
Before restart I've also tried nm-applet from terminal and it worked as well.

Thank you for your support

Best regards,
Łukasz Konkol
Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”