Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
juicer
Level 3
Level 3

2 wireless networks same mac address wlan0

Post by juicer » Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:50 pm

Installed LM15 last week and all seemed good at first. Now trouble connecting/staying connected with Trendnet wireless g USB adapter. Not sure where the fault lies.
I have a 2Wire dsl wireless modem and off of that a Netgear Wireless FM114 printer router (needed for old style printer interface).
I noticed that when I check wireless settings there are two networks "Auto2wire734" (secured) and "AutoWireless" (unsecured). Both have the same MAC address and same appendage (wlan0). Also same IP address, same Default Rte and DNS. Sometimes one has higher percentage signal than the other, then at other times the numbers are reversed.
I am VERY new to Linux and have relied previously on hand holding from MS so the terminology is new and the chores equally new.
Can I simply select "Forget Network" On the settings page for the "AutoWireless" network?
It seems odd to have 2 networks with the same id??
Present problem is that on more than one occassion, I am unable to connect to Auto2Wire734 but able to connect to AutoWireless. Being unsecured, that is not a preferable choice.
If I reboot the 2Wire modem, I am again able to connect to both of the above named networks.
Update: Now that I have unchecked to auto connect to AutoWireless, I have to go into settings to reconnect Auto2Wire734 after suspend.
Ultimately, this will be a wired desktop computer but I am trying to learn as I go.
Thanks for any suggestions or direction to tutorials.
Water invented man as a means of transportation.

clay7
Level 1
Level 1

Re: 2 wireless networks same mac address wlan0

Post by clay7 » Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:51 am