(SOLVED not really) Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Appalbarry3
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:11 am

(SOLVED not really) Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by Appalbarry3 » Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:35 pm

Had to reinstall Mint after a power bar mishap. Yet again wifi won't connect. I know that eventually it actually did start working again last time, but I cannot recall what fixed it. It did work flawlessly under Mint 12, but since 15 - nothing but headaches.

Atheros Communications Inc. AR5416 Wireless Network Adapter [AR5008 802.11(a)bgn] (rev 01)

Yes, I have read and tried about 75 forum posts and other odd and ends to no avail, from both a Mint and Ubuntu angle.

Code: Select all

barry@barry-Inspiron-531 ~ $ sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
  -- Atheros Communications Inc. AR5416 Wireless Network Adapter [AR5008 802.11(a)bgn] (rev 01)
      ==> PCI ID = 168c:0023 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
wlan1     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"orange"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.427 GHz  Access Point: 00:22:B0:BA:18:AD   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:on
          Link Quality=58/70  Signal level=-52 dBm  
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:54   Missed beacon:0

eth0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1a:a0:5e:2a:10  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:488 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:488 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:121417 (121.4 KB)  TX bytes:121417 (121.4 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:91:01:10:d4  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:29:e6:05:38  
          inet addr:192.168.0.190  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::221:29ff:fee6:538/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:10836 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:9690 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:9548128 (9.5 MB)  TX bytes:1741839 (1.7 MB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:		192.168.0.1
Address:	192.168.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.233
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.238
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.224
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.225
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.226
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.227
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.228
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.229
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.230
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.231
Name:	google.com
Address: 74.125.227.232
Last edited by Appalbarry3 on Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Appalbarry3
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:11 am

Followup #1 Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by Appalbarry3 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:07 pm

FOLLOW UP ONE: I re-read "[url=http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=1085]Before you post in here![/url]"

The last entry in that post dates from 2007. Given that the WIFI on this machine worked on Mint 12, less than two years ago, and that the problem only emerged well after 2007, I can't think I'll get a lot of useful help here.

Appalbarry3
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:11 am

Follow up #2 Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by Appalbarry3 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:43 pm

FOLLOW UP #2: A fresh search for "Atheros AR5416"

The first two results were from me. The third was "[url=http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=117409&hilit=Atheros+AR5416]Wireless refusing to connect, need some ideas[/url]" The solutions was "I rebooted the linux to try out what I learned. And boom, it started working before I did anything." Tried rebooting - still no WIFI.

Next on the list was "[url=http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=42565&hilit=Atheros+AR5416]War with a TP-LINK TL-WN722N usb wireless adapter[/url]" which has lots of links onward, although most are several years old. Including one that references http://madwifi.org/ - which is decidedly no longer home to the [url=http://madwifi-project.org/]mad-wifi[/url] project. I will note that the author of this post seems to have resorted to buying a new wifi card.

An hour fiddling with madwifi has yet to yield anything positive, as I find myself in one of those recursive linux loops where every step requires something else before it can happen.

Appalbarry3
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:11 am

Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by Appalbarry3 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:29 pm

OK, just for the record, opened up the PC and confirmed that this D-link card is a DWA-552.
DWA552.jpg
Ubuntu seems unsure about how well this beast works, but suggests that ath9k should be the way to go.

Of note: mintwifi.py says this uses AR5008. The Ubuntu page says AR922X.

User avatar
hal8000
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by hal8000 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:54 pm

According to the python sccript:-


wlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:29:e6:05:38
inet addr:192.168.0.190 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::221:29ff:fee6:538/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:10836 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9690 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:9548128 (9.5 MB) TX bytes:1741839 (1.7 MB)

--snip
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server: 192.168.0.1
Address: 192.168.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.227.233
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.227.238
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.227.224


Your wlan1 card is correctly configured and your router has resolved google's IP address.
Post the output of these commands:

ping -c4 192.168.0.1

ping -c4 bbc.co.uk

If they return valid packets then what error message does firefox show?

cjorsinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by cjorsinger » Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm

Ubuntu seems unsure about how well this beast works, but suggests that ath9k should be the way to go.
For what it's worth, [url=http://wikidevi.com/wiki/TP-LINK_TL-WN851N_v1]Wikidevi agrees[/url]. Linux wireless is the authority, of course, but it seems to be down at the moment. If you manage to connect to [url=http://wireless.kernel.org]Linux wireless[/url], it's best to confirm by PCI ID as well as the wifi board's model, since sometimes a particular model of board can have more than one version with different chipsets. Your card's PCI ID appears to be

Code: Select all

168c:0023
.

From the information you've provided, it appears that either Linux sees your board as two different wifi adapters, or you have two different wifi adapters and one of them isn't working.

Appalbarry3
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:11 am

Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by Appalbarry3 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:38 pm

Just for recording keeping - this card WILL connect if no security is used. The problem only exists when WPA is enabled.

Appalbarry3
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:11 am

Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by Appalbarry3 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:10 pm

And finally, I admit defeat. Instead I swapped in an older D-link card that I found in a box. Despite having a seriously bent single antenna, it just connected.
DWL-G510.jpg
Ubuntulists three variants of this card, and it looked rather sketchy, but it does work with Mint 15.

Appalbarry3
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:11 am

Re: Atheros. Damned Atheros.

Post by Appalbarry3 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:35 pm

@cjorsinger - Just to be clear, as well as the original non-connecting D-Link PCI card (the AR5416 Wireless Network Adapter), I also had a USB adaptor plugged in so that I could get to the 'net. From much of what I read (and I did chase a LOT of leads), that particular D-link card refuses to work for many people, but it seems that no-one ever managed to track down the reason, or a solution.

Heck, it worked for me for the longest time until the upgrade to Mint 15! I'm still of the opinion that the Mint 15 package broke something somewhere.

Ultimately I think that the final lesson for anyone in a similar circumstance is that wireless on Linux is still somewhat iffy. Even if you consult the various lists of "known to work" devices, there's always a chance that your specific unit has some quirk or firmware change that may make it not work.

And if your particular wireless card doesn't seem to work, it will sometimes be a lot faster to just try another one than it will be to try and solve the problem.

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”