help Compaq Presario

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Nettam7605
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:41 pm

help Compaq Presario

Post by Nettam7605 »

I can't get the wireless to work

nett@nett-Presario-C304NR ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 3 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7-M Family) SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 01)
06:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)
08:08.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
nett@nett-Presario-C304NR ~ $ mintwifi
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)
==> PCI ID = 14e4:4311 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:d4:46:b4:48
inet6 addr: fe80::216:d4ff:fe46:b448/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:599 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:615 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:733493 (733.4 KB) TX bytes:69194 (69.1 KB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:5548 (5.5 KB) TX bytes:5548 (5.5 KB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
[sudo] password for nett:
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by CupOfCoffee »

Cool, I think you might have the exact same PC that I have :D
Is your PC a Compaq Presario C500?

Ok, this one I can definitely help with. From what I know, the Ethernet should be working fine. If you have Ethernet, go into the Synaptic Package Manager and install the following packages: b43-fwcutter, and firmware-b43-installer. The b43-fwcutter is a dependency of the b43-firmware-installer, so Synaptic should select it too.

Instead of using Synaptic, you can also use this command in the Terminal to install the driver:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter && apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
This should work, I'd hit myself if it doesn't.
Last edited by CupOfCoffee on Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.

My Rusty and Trusty Old PC(not in use): Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

Nettam7605
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:41 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by Nettam7605 »

the ethernet does work but I can't get the wireless to work at all, it is a compaq c304nr

nett@nett-Presario-C304NR ~ $ sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter && apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
b43-fwcutter is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 9 not upgraded.
E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?

CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by CupOfCoffee »

Hmm...
Did you have Synaptic Package Manager open while running this command? For it to successfully execute, there have to be no other package managers open, i.e. Mint Update Manager. Try closing any if open and run again.

Also, since your Terminal states that b43-fwcutter is already installed and at the latest version, all you need to do is install the firmware-b43-installer package.

You may either use this command in the terminal to install

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer


or find it in the Synaptic Package Manager.
SynapticPManagerB43.png
Once it's installed you should restart your Mint (your PC).

Hope this helps!
New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.

My Rusty and Trusty Old PC(not in use): Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by CupOfCoffee »

And on a side note, when making a new thread, the title should be as informative as can be. "help Compaq Presario" was enough to bring me here, and although it did, you should really state what problem you're having or at least hint it. :wink:
New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.

My Rusty and Trusty Old PC(not in use): Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

Hoser Rob
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6079
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by Hoser Rob »

CupOfCoffee wrote:Cool, I think you might have the exact same PC that I have ...
Well, he doesn't, and even if it were the same model number you can't assume it'd have the same wireless adapter.

So forget all that b43-installer stuff for now. It may be the right driver, it may not.

For some ridiculous reason mintwifi does not display the wireless driver in use. I just tried it on mine. Which makes it kind of useless for wireless diagnosis by itself ...

However, it does tell you it's a broadcom BCM4311. And the pci id (important because there could be more than one wireless adapter with that model number) is 14e4:4311 (the 14e4: part is the pci bus id for wlan0).

To find out the driver used enter into terminal (assuming it's ubuntu based mint which most mint desktops are):

Code: Select all

sudo lshw -C network
According to this ...

http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43

... you should probably be using wl.

Howeve, without knowing which mint version you're running it's not possible to say what steps you should take. I have onne of the trickier broadcom adapters in this netbook and I've run ubuntu 12.04 to 13.10 plus mint 13, and now mint 16 mate, which is ubuntu 13.10 based. I've had a lot of problems in previous versions and the solution was different in each case.

Actually, knowing the ubuntu version mint is using, and the other info, I usually just search ubuntu tech support. They have some serious networking experts there.

CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by CupOfCoffee »

Hoser Rob wrote:
CupOfCoffee wrote:Cool, I think you might have the exact same PC that I have ...
Well, he doesn't, and even if it were the same model number you can't assume it'd have the same wireless adapter.

So forget all that b43-installer stuff for now. It may be the right driver, it may not.

For some ridiculous reason mintwifi does not display the wireless driver in use. I just tried it on mine. Which makes it kind of useless for wireless diagnosis by itself ...

However, it does tell you it's a broadcom BCM4311. And the pci id (important because there could be more than one wireless adapter with that model number) is 14e4:4311 (the 14e4: part is the pci bus id for wlan0).

To find out the driver used enter into terminal (assuming it's ubuntu based mint which most mint desktops are):

Code: Select all

sudo lshw -C network
According to this ...

http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43

... you should probably be using wl.

Howeve, without knowing which mint version you're running it's not possible to say what steps you should take. I have onne of the trickier broadcom adapters in this netbook and I've run ubuntu 12.04 to 13.10 plus mint 13, and now mint 16 mate, which is ubuntu 13.10 based. I've had a lot of problems in previous versions and the solution was different in each case.

Actually, knowing the ubuntu version mint is using, and the other info, I usually just search ubuntu tech support. They have some serious networking experts there.
First of all, I did not assume that his wireless adapter was like mine, it IS. I have the same BCM4311 that he does. The driver worked for me, and I don't see how or why it shouldn't work for him. The STA driver never worked for me at all. Have you used this driver before? You may have used a "trickier" one, but it isn't the same.
New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.

My Rusty and Trusty Old PC(not in use): Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

Hoser Rob
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6079
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by Hoser Rob »

He never stated which mint version he's using, and you didn't either.

Nettam7605
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:41 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by Nettam7605 »

I am sorry for the vague discription, I am very new at forums and linux, I have version Linux Mint 16 Petra Cinnamon. Still have no wireless networks available to me.
nett@nett-Presario-C304NR ~ $ sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
[sudo] password for nett:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
firmware-b43-installer is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 9 not upgraded.
nett@nett-Presario-C304NR ~ $ sudo lshw -C network
*-network
description: Network controller
product: BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:06:00.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=wl latency=0
resources: irq:18 memory:80800000-80803fff
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 8
bus info: pci@0000:08:08.0
logical name: eth0
version: 10
serial: 00:16:d4:46:b4:48
size: 100Mbit/s
capacity: 100Mbit/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=full ip=192.168.254.13 latency=32 link=yes maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100Mbit/s
resources: irq:16 ioport:2000(size=256) memory:d0100000-d01000ff

I don't know what I am doing :(

CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by CupOfCoffee »

Hoser Rob wrote:He never stated which mint version he's using, and you didn't either.
I honestly don't see your point in saying that. The STA driver hasn't worked for me on previous versions of Mint up to version 10, and since recently testing it, still doesn't work. The b43-fwcutter worked then, and is still working.

I hope the STA driver gets improved at somepoint, for convenience's sake...
Last edited by CupOfCoffee on Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.

My Rusty and Trusty Old PC(not in use): Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by CupOfCoffee »

Nettam7605 wrote:I am sorry for the vague discription, I am very new at forums and linux, I have version Linux Mint 16 Petra Cinnamon. Still have no wireless networks available to me.
nett@nett-Presario-C304NR ~ $ sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
[sudo] password for nett:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
firmware-b43-installer is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 9 not upgraded.
nett@nett-Presario-C304NR ~ $ sudo lshw -C network
*-network
description: Network controller
product: BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:06:00.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=wl latency=0
resources: irq:18 memory:80800000-80803fff
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 8
bus info: pci@0000:08:08.0
logical name: eth0
version: 10
serial: 00:16:d4:46:b4:48
size: 100Mbit/s
capacity: 100Mbit/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=full ip=192.168.254.13 latency=32 link=yes maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100Mbit/s
resources: irq:16 ioport:2000(size=256) memory:d0100000-d01000ff

I don't know what I am doing :(
Ok, did you restart after installing the driver? It should work then.

*I looked up your computer. It looks exactly like mine :shock:
New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.

My Rusty and Trusty Old PC(not in use): Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

Nettam7605
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:41 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by Nettam7605 »

ok it should work and I restarted but I don't have any available networks to pick from and I am about a foot away from my wireless router can someone tell me where to find the networks available? Or how to hook up to wireless in Linux please

CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by CupOfCoffee »

Which desktop environment are you using - KDE, Cinnamon, XFCE, or MATE?

Are you saying you can't find a way to connect to your wireless network, or that your computer can't detect any networks?
New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.

My Rusty and Trusty Old PC(not in use): Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

Hoser Rob
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6079
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: help Compaq Presario

Post by Hoser Rob »

Nettam7605 wrote:ok it should work and I restarted but I don't have any available networks to pick from and I am about a foot away from my wireless router can someone tell me where to find the networks available? Or how to hook up to wireless in Linux please
Try installing ubuntu. Go to ubuntuforums or askubuntu. They have REAL experts there. You're mostly getting ignorant answers from posers here.

I just installed lubuntu 13.10 early this morning. I asked a couple of questions on ubuntuforums and got more responses from people who actually know what the hell they're doing in 2 hours than I EVER got from Mint so called tech support.

It's not that I don't LIKE linux mint per se ... it's actually pretty well sorted overall ... but the pitiful tech support means it's just not suitable for newbies.

I was using C and unix in the mid 80s ... I don't necessarily know all the details in linux but if I don't know something I know where to find it. Newbies just don't know how to ask the right questions. They need better support than THIS.

Goodbye ...

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”