Wifi stops working after a while

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
mma
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:31 pm

Wifi stops working after a while

Post by mma »

Wifi stops working after a while and I have to reconnect. Can you help?

description: Wireless interface
product: AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
vendor: Qualcomm Atheros
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 01
serial: 74:2f:68:38:58:f6
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath9k driverversion=3.13.0-24-generic firmware=N/A ip=192.168.0.143 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
resources: irq:17 memory:de200000-de20ffff

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14987
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by Pjotr »

That particular wireless chipset usually performs flawlessly out of the box.... Strange.

What does this command give:

Code: Select all

iwconfig
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

mma
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:31 pm

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by mma »

Command iwconfig gives:

eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"Elisa_uFi_648496"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.472 GHz Access Point: 78:E8:B6:64:84:96
Bit Rate=65 Mb/s Tx-Power=16 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=51/70 Signal level=-59 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:63 Missed beacon:0

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14987
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by Pjotr »

Do you have Bluetooth as well, in your computer?
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

mma
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:31 pm

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by mma »

Yes, I have also bluetooth in my computer. But I don't use it and I don't know is it working in Linux.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11640
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by JeremyB »

Lets see

Code: Select all

iwconfig | grep -A5 'Bit Rate'
and look at

Code: Select all

iwlist scan
for your wifi SSID and see what the encryption is, it will look like

Code: Select all

IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : CCMP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
You want to see CCMP only, no TKIP and no WEP

mma
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:31 pm

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by mma »

It seems that wifi stays connected but bit rate drops. And after a while bit rate is better again.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"Elisa_uFi_648496"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.472 GHz Access Point: 78:E8:B6:64:84:96
Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=16 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=37/70 Signal level=-73 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:1 Invalid misc:188 Missed beacon:0

Biker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:58 am
Location: Where my hat is

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by Biker »

How far away from the router are you? If you move closer for a better signal strength, do you still experience the connection issue?
Linux User #384279

mma
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:31 pm

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by mma »

Distance to the router is only few metres. I have Windows 7 also in same computer and in Windows wifi works fine. So problem is in linux.

User avatar
DariusThe1st
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by DariusThe1st »

The same here. Bluetooth adapter is definitely not a problem. I use one, so I've tested. The problem persist even when the bluetooth adapter isn't plugged.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11640
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by JeremyB »

It might be an issue with the math behind the receive attenuation in Linux and it might be worth trying a newer kernel that you can find in the Mint Update Manager by clicking on View and then Linux Kernels

User avatar
DariusThe1st
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by DariusThe1st »

I've upgraded to the newest 3.19 kernel, but still, the problem remains the same. :?:

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11640
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by JeremyB »

DariusThe1st wrote:I've upgraded to the newest 3.19 kernel, but still, the problem remains the same. :?:
Look at the results from

Code: Select all

iwlist scan
and look for your access point name and see if it is using TKIP as it will cause problems

User avatar
DariusThe1st
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by DariusThe1st »

There are few lines which are mentioning TKIP, some of them for the router and other for the repeater, if I understood correctly. These ones are an example from the "iwlist scan" command results:

Code: Select all

Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11640
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Wifi stops working after a while

Post by JeremyB »

DariusThe1st wrote:There are few lines which are mentioning TKIP, some of them for the router and other for the repeater, if I understood correctly. These ones are an example from the "iwlist scan" command results:

Code: Select all

Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
You should be able to set the router and the repeater to WPA2 only and the iwlist scan result should change to CCMP instead of TKIP and your issues should stop

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”