Cant add mobile broadband connection

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:00 am

Hello,

i installed Linux Mint 18.1 yesterday, and i want to setup my mobile broadband.

I got a Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Carborn, the device should be
Bus 002 Device 007: ID 1199:a001 Sierra Wireless, Inc.
I open the network manager, go to mobile broadband (my IMEI is shown) and click add new connection. I follow thw wizard, enter country provider and APN (I checkt the APN, the default is correct) click apply, and then its gone. The connection is not added or saved, i can only add new connection.

What is wrong?

Thanks,
Felix

KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:52 am

Can anyone see this post? I cant find this in the topic list, only in my profile.

User avatar
MintyO
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:54 pm

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by MintyO » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:15 pm

KUGA wrote:Can anyone see this post? I cant find this in the topic list, only in my profile.
Yes. But for your problem ...? Can you see the network applet and what options do you get by clicking it?
Ducks on the edge sleep with one eye open.

User avatar
gtsfer
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 9:15 am
Location: Bucks County PA, USA

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by gtsfer » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:17 pm

Yes, its there. Look for the "Quick LInks" icon once you have logged in. Select "Your Posts", "New Posts" or "Unread Posts" from that drop-down list. Unfortunately I can't help you with broadband on LM myself (that's DSL right?). I am not familiar enough with it but maybe someone else will chime in now.
"There is no gravity, the earth sucks." - Issac Newton @ 75
KDE & Cinnamon 18.1 & Win 10 - ASUS M5A99FX PRO MB, AMD FX-8370 Octo-Core CPU, 16GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 240

KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:40 pm

Thanks guys. Now i see it in the list too.

I added some screenshots. Maybe this helps

This is the Network screen before:
Screenshot from 2017-02-19 17-31-08.png
Then i add the connection. I checked the Providers page, the APN settings are correct:
Screenshot from 2017-02-19 17-33-38.png
Then i click apply, but the Network screen does not change.

supertuxkart
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:58 pm

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by supertuxkart » Sun Feb 19, 2017 5:36 pm

It looks as problematic data card.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... omments/23
Read the post and try some solutions proposed.

User avatar
gtsfer
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 9:15 am
Location: Bucks County PA, USA

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by gtsfer » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:17 pm

Do what you have above here and after you add the broadband connection and hit "apply", right-click on your network icon and "Configure network Connections". From that window select your connection and "edit" it.

Make sure "Automatically Connect to Network" and ""All Users..." are both checked in the "General Configuration" tab for starters. It might be a little different with broadband. This might or might not help, just thought you could look.
"There is no gravity, the earth sucks." - Issac Newton @ 75
KDE & Cinnamon 18.1 & Win 10 - ASUS M5A99FX PRO MB, AMD FX-8370 Octo-Core CPU, 16GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 240

KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:02 pm

Thanks

@supertuxkart: the link cover when the driver disconnects in use. mime does not connect at all.

@gtsfer: which butten do you mean?

Addition: dmesg says its a Sierra Wireless EM7345 4G LTE

User avatar
gtsfer
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 9:15 am
Location: Bucks County PA, USA

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by gtsfer » Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:32 pm

KUGA wrote:@gtsfer: which butten do you mean?
In your task bar, on the right side there is an icon for Networks. Hover your mouse over it to see that. Now right-click on it and "configure networks" or whatever it says in the tiny pop-up.
"There is no gravity, the earth sucks." - Issac Newton @ 75
KDE & Cinnamon 18.1 & Win 10 - ASUS M5A99FX PRO MB, AMD FX-8370 Octo-Core CPU, 16GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 240

KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:24 pm

the 4G connection is not present there. Only cable and wifi.

User avatar
gtsfer
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 9:15 am
Location: Bucks County PA, USA

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by gtsfer » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:11 am

Can you copy/paste back the output of this from Terminal?

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
I'm also curious to check if your userID has administrator privileges. It's probably OK but can't hurt to look. The above command will tell us which version and desktop you are running so we can be specific on that.
"There is no gravity, the earth sucks." - Issac Newton @ 75
KDE & Cinnamon 18.1 & Win 10 - ASUS M5A99FX PRO MB, AMD FX-8370 Octo-Core CPU, 16GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 240

KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:50 pm

Here you go:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: ThinkPad-X1 Kernel: 4.4.0-53-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Machine:   System: LENOVO (portable) product: 20A8S05M08 v: ThinkPad X1 Carbon 2nd
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 20A8S05M08 v: SDK0E50510 Pro
           Bios: LENOVO v: GRET50WW (1.27 ) date: 11/03/2016
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i7-4600U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10775
           clock speeds: max: 3300 MHz 1: 2099 MHz 2: 2098 MHz 3: 2099 MHz
           4: 2846 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-53-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Ethernet Connection I218-LM
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: 3080 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel Wireless 7260 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 256.1GB (16.7% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: SAMSUNG_MZNLN256 size: 256.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 227G used: 33G (16%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
           ID-2: /boot size: 472M used: 62M (14%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 8.26GB used: 0.38GB (5%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 45.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info:      Processes: 235 Uptime: 9:39 Memory: 4066.5/7651.1MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.461) inxi: 2.2.35 
Looks like the sierra is not in that list.

User avatar
gtsfer
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 9:15 am
Location: Bucks County PA, USA

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by gtsfer » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:11 pm

KUGA wrote:Network: Card-1: Intel Ethernet Connection I218-LM
driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: 3080 bus-ID: 00:19.0
IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter>
Card-2: Intel Wireless 7260 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>

Looks like the sierra is not in that list.
Well it's not what I would expect for a driver for sure. Let me see what we can find for a "Sierra Wireless EM7345 4G LTE". Specifically the Linux driver for it. (Sierra Wireless EM7345 4G LTE LInux Driver). Don't be too hasty if you find something first unless you feel confident. Maybe we'll even get some help n this if we're lucky. 8)

I guess this wasn't plugged in when you installed LM? Or maybe it was and LM didn't auto-detect it. Sometimes that solves a lot of problems but that's a moot point now.
"There is no gravity, the earth sucks." - Issac Newton @ 75
KDE & Cinnamon 18.1 & Win 10 - ASUS M5A99FX PRO MB, AMD FX-8370 Octo-Core CPU, 16GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 240

KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:26 pm

it was plugged since it is internal

User avatar
gtsfer
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 9:15 am
Location: Bucks County PA, USA

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by gtsfer » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:32 pm

KUGA wrote:it was plugged since it is internal
LOL of course... duh me.
"There is no gravity, the earth sucks." - Issac Newton @ 75
KDE & Cinnamon 18.1 & Win 10 - ASUS M5A99FX PRO MB, AMD FX-8370 Octo-Core CPU, 16GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 240

User avatar
gtsfer
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 9:15 am
Location: Bucks County PA, USA

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by gtsfer » Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:36 pm

Let's clarify exactly what the card is first. Do one of these links look like your system?
http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/tech-specs ... n-2nd-gen/
http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/th ... tech_specs

If so the card should be an "Intel Wireless 7260" in one of three flavors that I see on these links. Can you do this command from Terminal and copy and paste back results?

Code: Select all

lspci
I want to be sure first since your "inxi" output looks like this..
Card-2: Intel Wireless 7260 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
And at one point "dmesg" showed you this...
KUGA wrote:Addition: dmesg says its a Sierra Wireless EM7345 4G LTE
Let's make absolutely sure we are hunting down the correct driver.
"There is no gravity, the earth sucks." - Issac Newton @ 75
KDE & Cinnamon 18.1 & Win 10 - ASUS M5A99FX PRO MB, AMD FX-8370 Octo-Core CPU, 16GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 240

KUGA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:53 am

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by KUGA » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:48 pm

Yes it is on of those in the links. its the i7, 1600x900, No Touch.

Intel Corporation Wireless 7260 is my wifi contoller which works.

Not workin is the WWAN or 4G or mobile network controller. It was working with the preinstalled windows 8.
lspci says:

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT DRAM Controller (rev 0b)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0b)
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller (rev 0b)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series USB xHCI HC (rev 04)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series HECI #0 (rev 04)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection I218-LM (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series HD Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 6 (rev e4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev e4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series USB EHCI #1 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series SATA Controller 1 [AHCI mode] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 8 Series SMBus Controller (rev 04)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 7260 (rev 83)
But i dont think it is here. dmesg (cut to the relevant part):

Code: Select all

[    2.633901] hub 1-1:1.0: USB hub found
[    2.633980] hub 1-1:1.0: 8 ports detected
[    2.697020] usb 2-4: New USB device found, idVendor=1199, idProduct=a001
[    2.697024] usb 2-4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3

[    2.697026] usb 2-4: Product: Sierra Wireless EM7345 4G LTE
[    2.697028] usb 2-4: Manufacturer: Sierra Wireless Inc.
[    2.697029] usb 2-4: SerialNumber: 013937000196962

[    2.766197] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: registered PHC clock
[    2.766201] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: (PCI Express:2.5GT/s:Width x1) 54:ee:75:03:0f:67
[    2.766202] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
Note that the serial is also here:
Screenshot from 2017-02-23 18-44-09.png
Sierra Wireless EM7345 is noted in the first link for WE (Western Europe) Machines like mime (german keyboard layout).

Strangely your link says its an M.2 card which should be PCI and not USB, shouldnt it?

Hansl
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:50 pm

Re: Cant add mobile broadband connection

Post by Hansl » Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:53 pm

A bit late, but nevertheless:  With quite some effort I got my Sierra EM7345 to work.
From viewtopic.php?f=239&t=262003&p=1416825#p1416825 :

The EM7345 seems to be infamous for buggy firmware, one should install the latest, V1.2 seems essential.  Unfortunately this needs Lenovo's Windows, Lenovo Service Bridge, some other internet connection, and having a working SIM card inserted!  Have now firmware FIH7160_V1.2_WW_01.1616.01.

On Linux, the EM7345 seems to need mbim mode. Manual one-shot:

Code: Select all

sudo rmmod cdc_mbim 	# uses cdc_ncm
sudo rmmod cdc_ncm
sudo modprobe cdc_ncm prefer_mbim=Y   # restart with this option
sudo modprobe cdc_mbim   # restart 
echo '1-4' | sudo tee /sys/bus/drivers/usb/unbind   # power-cycle the modem 
echo '1-4' | sudo tee /sys/bus/drivers/usb/bind     # at USB bus 1 device 4 
# for your machine, do usb-devices and look for Sierra's Bus=? and Dev#= ?  
ls /dev    # now must show a newly added  cdc-wdm0 
For permanence, create a   /etc/modprobe.d/em7345.conf   containing —
options cdc_ncm prefer_mbim=Y

All this was necessary to get the modem to connect at all. 

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”