[SOLVED] I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
JoeGons
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:46 pm
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

[SOLVED] I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.

Postby JoeGons » Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:33 pm

Hi,
I am a new user.
I have an old Acer Travelmate 2480 with Windows XP sp3.
The hard drive died and it would not boot.
I decided to confirm that the rest of the hardware was good .
I also wanted to test Mint and find out about WINE.
There were two programs on this laptop that I will want to install.

So;
I installed Live Mint on Flash Drive (16Gb) and then installed Mint onto a 32GB Flash drive.

The system Boots but takes 4 to 5 minutes to Boot.

The Ethernet and Internet works fine.

I cannot see available Networks so I can connect.

I have spent about 40 hours trying to get the WiFi to work.
Lots of reading and checking.
I have done all the updates.
I have disabled and enabled Networking a dozen times.
I have checked the driver but really cannot tell if it is correct.
I seem to have the b43 driver already installed.
See the info I got from the Terminal.
I then read that there may be more than one b43 drivers.
I am really tired.
I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.


I also installed Samba.
I see it but when I try to launch it, nothing happens.
I did enter the password.

I’m also hoping to connect with a Windows 10 Desktop. (Network)

If I can resolve these issues, I will use Mint on the new hard drive.

Thanks
Joe

Acer Travelmate 2480

Code: Select all

joe-travelmate-2480       
    description: Computer
    product: TravelMate 2480
    vendor: Acer, inc.
    version: Not Applicable
    serial: LXTEC050706370D1472500
    width: 32 bits
    capabilities: smbios-2.4 dmi-2.4 smp-1.4 smp
    configuration: administrator_password=disabled boot=oem-specific cpus=1 frontpanel_password=unknown keyboard_password=unknown power-on_password=disabled uuid=A0550191-9C0A-D911-B84A-00163681D17B
  *-core
       description: Motherboard
       product: Prespa1
       vendor: Acer, Inc.
       physical id: 0
       version: Not Applicable
       serial: LXTEC050706370D1472500
     *-firmware
          description: BIOS
          vendor: Acer
          physical id: 0
          version: v1.3206
          date: 09/04/06
          size: 101KiB
          capacity: 960KiB
          capabilities: isa pci pcmcia pnp upgrade shadowing escd cdboot acpi usb biosbootspecification
     *-cpu
          description: CPU
          product: Intel(R) Celeron(R) M CPU        410  @ 1.46GHz
          vendor: Intel Corp.
          physical id: 4
          bus info: cpu@0
          version: 6.14.8
          serial: 0000-06E8-0000-0000-0000-0000
          slot: U2E1
          size: 1460MHz
          capacity: 1460MHz
          width: 32 bits
          clock: 133MHz
          capabilities: boot fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe nx constant_tsc arch_perfmon bts aperfmperf pni monitor tm2 xtpr pdcm dtherm




---------------------------------------


Code: Select all

joe@joe-TravelMate-2480 ~ $ sudo rfkill list all
[sudo] password for joe:
0: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no


-------------------

Code: Select all

joe@joe-TravelMate-2480 ~ $ sudo iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

enp2s0    no wireless extensions.


------------------------------


Code: Select all

*-network               
       description: Ethernet interface
       product: 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
       vendor: Marvell Technology Group Ltd.
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
       logical name: enp2s0
       version: 14
       serial: 00:16:36:81:d1:7b
       size: 100Mbit/s
       capacity: 100Mbit/s
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm vpd msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=sky2 driverversion=1.30 duplex=full latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100Mbit/s
       resources: irq:28 memory:80000000-80003fff ioport:2000(size=256)
  *-network
       description: Network controller
       product: BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller
       vendor: Broadcom Corporation
       physical id: 3
       bus info: pci@0000:0a:03.0
       version: 02
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: bus_master
       configuration: driver=b43-pci-bridge latency=128
       resources: irq:18 memory:d0100000-d0101fff

-----------------------------------
0a:03.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
   Subsystem: AMBIT Microsystem Corp. TravelMate 2410
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 128, IRQ 18
   Memory at d0100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
   Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
   Kernel modules: ssb
--------------------------------------
0a:03.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
   Subsystem: AMBIT Microsystem Corp. TravelMate 2410
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap- 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 128
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 18
   Region 0: Memory at d0100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
   Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
   Kernel modules: ssb


-------------------------------

https://gist.github.com/anonymous/0db42 ... 09a1f62c55


Code: Select all

System:    Host: joe-TravelMate-2480 Kernel: 4.10.0-37-generic i686 (32 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) dm: lightdm Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   System: Acer product: TravelMate 2480
           Mobo: Acer model: Prespa1 Bios: Acer v: v1.3206 date: 09/04/06
CPU:       Single core Intel Celeron M 410 (-UP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (nx pae sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 2933 speed: 1466 MHz (max)
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:27a2
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x800@59.97hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GM x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:27d8
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-37-generic
Network:   Card-1: Marvell 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
           driver: sky2 v: 1.30 port: 2000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 11ab:4352
           IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller
           driver: b43-pci-bridge bus-ID: 0a:03.0 chip-ID: 14e4:4318I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.

           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 46.3GB (18.2% used)
           ID-1: USB /dev/sda model: Ultra size: 30.8GB serial: 4C531001591227115485-0:0
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Ultra size: 15.6GB serial: 4C530001320606117384-0:0
Partition: ID-1: / size: 7.4G used: 5.4G (76%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: /home size: 20G used: 79M (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
ID-3: swap-1 size: 1.02GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1
If we could do it alone, we would not need each other.

JeremyB
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7434
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.

Postby JeremyB » Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:46 pm

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer

Reboot

User avatar
JoeGons
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:46 pm
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

Re: I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.

Postby JoeGons » Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:07 pm

:D
Jeremy,
You know that worked!!!
It took 11 minutes.
1 minute to install and 10 minutes to reboot.
I'm on wifi now.
Thank you so much.
Joe
If we could do it alone, we would not need each other.

syg00
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:00 am

Re: I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.

Postby syg00 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:30 pm

Broadcom is such a pox.
Get a new hard-disk and install onto that. If you still have long boot times we can look at that then - using USB (USB1.1 maybe) longterm is just looking for frustration.

User avatar
JoeGons
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:46 pm
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

SOLVED Re: I just can’t get the available Networks to show up.

Postby JoeGons » Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:35 pm

Yep, it's the usb1.

Just need to check out Wine.

Joe
If we could do it alone, we would not need each other.


Return to “Wireless”