Archer t2u ubuntu installer

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Squibbs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 12:14 pm

Archer t2u ubuntu installer

Post by Squibbs » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:40 am

I am complete newbie and need help. Have followed ivannieto instructions but ran into a brick wall.
Entered the following:

$ git clone https://github.com/ivannieto/archer-t2u ... taller.git
$ cd archer-t2u-ubuntu-installer/ && python3 t2u-driver-installer.py

was informed git did not exist and given install instructions - followed these and ended up with notification to close all devices and press . I don't know what this symbol represents and could only enter the three items from the keyboard. Obviously this did not work.

Please can anyone tell an utter idiot what she is doing wrong. I really do need instructions how to proceed.

fabien85
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1376
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 4:30 pm

Re: Archer t2u ubuntu installer

Post by fabien85 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:26 am

I dont know what instructions you were given to install git, but the way to do it in Mint is very simple :
- open the software manager (Menu > Administration > Software manager) and search for git
- click install
Alternatively you can also do it from the terminal with apt install git
If the instructions were different from that, they were most probably incorrect for Mint.
Same for python3 : install it through the software manager if you dont have it already. (though it may already be installed by default)
In general if you have to install a program, first search whether it's available in the software manager, this is by far the recommended way (alternatively you can use synaptic or apt, they do the same job behind the scenes). Other ways of installing programs are generally ways to get in trouble, unless you know what you are doing.

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9145
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Archer t2u ubuntu installer

Post by JeremyB » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:56 pm

Squibbs, when it asks you to press press i and see if it works

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”