BCM 43142 Wifi drops out on PEAP network

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
profwumbo

BCM 43142 Wifi drops out on PEAP network

Post by profwumbo »

Hello all!

My first post on the forums, so please bear with me as I try and troubleshoot some stuff. I am new to linux.

I have an HP Stream 11 Pro with a BCM 43142 Broadcom wireless card w/ bluetooth that is becoming a headache. It wasn't the greatest with Windows, but it worked.

I am on Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon.

When I connect to wifi at home, it works pretty well (EDIT: albeit much slower than my desktop, it gets about 30mB/s down as opposed to 90 on the other machine). The problem occurs when connecting to my University's wifi. The connection drops out every 2-3 minutes, almost on the dot. 90% of the time, it can't reconnect on it's own, but disabling and reenabling wifi tends to fix it (temporarily).

Here is my device:

Code: Select all

lspci -nn -d 14e4:
01:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM43142 802.11b/g/n [14e4:4365] (rev 01)
I am using bcmwl-kernel-source for the driver, instead of the b43-firmware-installer. The latter doesn't seem to work, and the former came with the distro, so I just used it.

My connection to the University network has to be manual, as trying to do it automatically causes the login prompt to repeatedly appear, and no connection. My config options:

Security: WPA & WPA2 Enterprise
Authentication: Protected EAP (PEAP)
No CA certificate is required (that's the way my other devices are set up, our IT doesn't require a certificate, or at least they haven't ever mentioned it)
Inner authentication: MSCHAPv2
Username
Password (Normally with Windows, auto configuration works fine so long as the UN and PW are correct)