the restricted drivers disapeared

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Wh1sper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

the restricted drivers disapeared

Post by Wh1sper »

Hi, I am a German guy who tries his brand new Asus G1 Laptop to Linuxify :)
First let me say a few words about me. I would describe myself as a advanced linuxuser. More than 10 years ;) Most of time I am using Debian unstable.
I am always looking for the ongoing success for ununtu, but did not use it by myself so far. Cassandra is very impressive. Even most of my Fn-Keys are working..! The Live Casandra has worked nearly out of the box. the wireless nonfree driver for the Intel Pro 3945ABG could connect with wpa.
After installation just in between setup the wireless connection there disapeared the non free driver. Now I am using the default normal driver with wep.
thats ok for now, no problem, but there seems something wrong with the switching between different networks, say 2 wireless and the lan. ....But never mind thats not on the top list and I think that is only a question of time :)
Now my question: where is the nonfree driver stuff? in the mintconfig there it is gone also... the notebook has a nvidia 7700 device, I have installed the driver with envy. So there is no really need for this I am just wondering.
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse »

Welcome to Mint Wh1sper
I'm not in Cassandra right now so my advice will be a bit vague.
Somewhere in Control Center there is a Restricted drivers section - I think the icon looks a bit like a circuit board.
This is at least for video drivers - if for wifi as well I don't think so. Possibly ndiswrapper can get you wap - look at one of the stickys in this section
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Wh1sper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Wh1sper »

Thanks for reply
That is the problem, this Icon disapeared also.
Would you please tell what the physical name of it is?
So I would able to search for and start it manually..
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse »

This command in a terminal
gksu -D /usr/share/applications/restricted-manager.desktop /usr/bin/restricted-manager
starts the restricted manager
It's in the system section of the Control Center if everything is as it should be
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Wh1sper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Wh1sper »

Husse wrote:This command in a terminal
gksu -D /usr/share/applications/restricted-manager.desktop /usr/bin/restricted-manager
starts the restricted manager
It's in the system section of the Control Center if everything is as it should be
Worked! And it is in the Menu again... :roll:
Mein Blog fuer Nerten und Linux Strategen http://zockertown.de/s9y/
Wh1sper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Wh1sper »

..and now to the mainproblem :)
once a time I had the option to connect to my wpa encrypted wlan.
Now, this is not possible, only connect to wep encrypted wlan is possible.
and second there apears no icon with the strength of the connected wlan
with wpa that was in the lower panel. how comes?
Mein Blog fuer Nerten und Linux Strategen http://zockertown.de/s9y/
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo »

are you using the network manager applet? next to the clock.

there is a stick post in wireless about getting it to work.

it may have more encryption selections.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
Wh1sper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Wh1sper »

Its the symbol with two stacked computers. I can only choose manual network configuration.
I thought, I saw the wireless
i
ii
iii
iiii
Symbol ..
Strange
Mein Blog fuer Nerten und Linux Strategen http://zockertown.de/s9y/
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo »

check this post out:
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2577

you have to only have the loopback interfaces listed in /etc/network/interfaces to reset the network manager applet to then use it properly.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
Wh1sper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Wh1sper »

This did not help. I tried this at first :)
Mein Blog fuer Nerten und Linux Strategen http://zockertown.de/s9y/
Wh1sper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Wh1sper »

Because I uninstalled the ugly Vista and installed an old XP. I decided to install mint once agfain, now with my experience ;) in handling linuxmint.
I did not configure the wlan in live-mode, but installed at once.
Now there are all icons that dissapered by my former install now there where they should be :)
Mein Blog fuer Nerten und Linux Strategen http://zockertown.de/s9y/
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse »

Everything working?
That's a relief :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”