WiFi keeps dropping out.

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
lsemmens
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

WiFi keeps dropping out.

Post by lsemmens » Fri May 11, 2018 8:43 am

I have an annoyance where my WiFi drops out Although signal is reliable at around 60% (modem in another room - brick wall between). Intermittently my WiFi drops out and then re-connects. Now to the annoyance. Every time it drops I get the popup "Authentication required...." asking me to reconnect, even though my password is saved (Correctly - it's the first thing I checked). Is there any way I can convince WiFi to automatically re-connect without any input from me?

Code: Select all

System:    Host: lappy Kernel: 4.13.0-41-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: TOSHIBA product: Satellite C50D-B v: PSCN4A-02G00H
           Mobo: TOSHIBA model: ZBWAE v: 1.00
           Bios: TOSHIBA v: 5.30 date: 08/26/2015
CPU:       Dual core AMD E1-6010 APU with AMD Radeon R2 Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 5389
           clock speeds: max: 1350 MHz 1: 1056 MHz 2: 1062 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon R2 Graphics]
           bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: AMD MULLINS (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.13.0-41-generic, LLVM 5.0.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.2.8 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-41-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 120.0GB (16.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: KINGSTON_SA400S3 size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 107G used: 16G (16%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 3.69GB used: 0.54GB (15%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 60.2C mobo: N/A gpu: 60.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 211 Uptime: 1 day Memory: 2797.9/3376.3MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
Kernel: 4.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 3Gb RAM
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: WiFi keeps dropping out.

Post by lsemmens » Sat May 12, 2018 2:12 am

Results from JeremyB's link "Wireless Info.Txt" are here: http://termbin.com/ziaa

From my limited understanding the messages at the end seem to indicate timeout on handshake is common, which would be normal if there were no signal, but why does it keep asking for my password when it already has it?
Kernel: 4.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 3Gb RAM
Out of my mind - please leave a message

JeremyB
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8386
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: WiFi keeps dropping out.

Post by JeremyB » Sat May 12, 2018 4:36 am

Can you change the wifi router encryption to WPA2 with AES only? Using WEP or TKIP can cause issues

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”