[Solved]Connecting To WIFI On HP Computer

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
shom_ronnie
Level 3
Level 3

[Solved]Connecting To WIFI On HP Computer

Post by shom_ronnie »

I am new to linux systems, dint know where else to post my problem, so dropping in here

I recently switched from windows, and my hp works fine, its just the wifi that seems to be the problem. Wifi keeps fluctuating, and drops completely at times and cant access any pages then. Problem persists for a while unless the wifi button is toggled. I tried a couple of steps in other posts without much success. Would be really glad if someone could help me out here. Thanks in advance
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 6 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
JoeFootball
Level 13
Level 13

Re: Connecting To WIFI On HP Computer

Post by JoeFootball »

shom_ronnie wrote:Would be really glad if someone could help me out here. Thanks in advance
You could try some of the ideas in this article from the Easy Linux Tips Project. You'd probably want "Section 2: Bad wireless connection", but the entire page is informative.

Also, it could be helpful for others if they knew more about your system. If you entered inxi -Fxz an a terminal prompt, and posted the output here, it would help facilitate diagnosis.

Joe
shom_ronnie
Level 3
Level 3

Post by shom_ronnie »

System: Host: shom-HP-Notebook Kernel: 4.13.0-45-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine: System: HP product: HP Notebook v: Type1ProductConfigId
Mobo: HP model: 81EF v: 63.40 Bios: Insyde v: F.41 date: 03/02/2018
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-5005U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB