Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

I have tried about half a dozen things and nothing has gotten Linux Mint to recognize my TP-Link AC600 wireless adapter. Here is computer specs:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: michael-MS-7640 Kernel: 4.4.0-133-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   Mobo: MSI model: Z170-A PRO (MS-7971) v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 1.B0 date: 05/11/2016
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-6600K (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 28032
           clock speeds: max: 4500 MHz 1: 799 MHz 2: 799 MHz 3: 799 MHz
           4: 799 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA Device 1b81 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 2560x1440@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 1070/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.130 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA Device 10f0 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Intel Sunrise Point-H HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-133-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth2 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Ralink usb-ID: 001-005
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1515.8GB (16.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: CT500BX100SSD1 size: 500.1GB temp: 31C
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST31000528AS size: 1000.2GB temp: 31C
           ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: DT_101_G2 size: 15.5GB temp: 0C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 451G used: 224G (53%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C gpu: 0.0:36C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 206 Uptime: 9 min Memory: 1229.1/16010.6MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
First try was the official drivers. They only work on linux 3.X or 2.X and they don't seem eager to upgrade to 4.X. (total bullshit in my opinion) Support couldn't help and told me that the adapter is a mt7610u chip and to try to find public drivers.

So I went googling and tried three different git repositories including the two mentioned here: viewtopic.php?f=53&t=264693&p=1436226&h ... 0#p1436226 All three seemed to compile correctly but two them still don't recognize the adapter and the third (here: https://github.com/ulli-kroll/mt7610u) fails on this step:

Code: Select all

sudo insmod mt7610u.ko
insmod: ERROR: could not insert module mt7610u.ko: Unknown symbol in module
The last thing I tried was ndiswrapper. I successfully installed netr28ux.inf which I had identified as the windows driver and ndisgtk could tell that I had the adapter plugged in but other than that it was identical to all the other solutions I had tried (see next paragraph).

This is the output of lshw command no matter which solutions I tried:

Code: Select all

 *-network               
       description: Ethernet interface
       product: RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
       vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
       logical name: eth2
       version: 15
       serial: 4c:cc:6a:49:24:39
       size: 100Mbit/s
       capacity: 1Gbit/s
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=full firmware=rtl8168h-2_0.0.2 02/26/15 ip=10.0.0.3 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=MII speed=100Mbit/s
       resources: irq:315 ioport:d000(size=256) memory:df104000-df104fff memory:df100000-df103fff
At this point I am at a total loss and any help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
Joe2Shoe
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 850
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:12 pm
Location: Ozone

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by Joe2Shoe »

You will probably have to compile the drivers with your current kernel. Every time I upgrade the kernel, I have to re-compile Realtek drivers for one of my laptops using a USB wifi adapter.
"Tolerance is the refuge of men without conviction."
"Common sense is not so common" - Voltaire
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

I am confused, isn't that what I was doing when cloning and compiling the code off github?
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

Try

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe cfg80211
Then do

Code: Select all

sudo insmod mt7610u.ko
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

I did and lshw is showing me this now:

Code: Select all

*-network DISABLED
       description: Wireless interface
       physical id: 2
       logical name: wlan0
       capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
       configuration: broadcast=yes driver=RALINK WLAN multicast=yes wireless=Ralink STA
I also get these wireless options in the network icon in the pnael but they do not do anything: https://imgur.com/a/Ks5Q8f2 If I reboot the computer it all goes away and I have to repeat your steps to get back to where I was.
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

See the wireless script link in my signature and post results
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge ndiswrapper
sudo rm /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper.conf
sudo depmod -a
Reboot
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

I followed the steps and I seem to be in the same spot as I was before. Here is the new output from the wireless script: http://termbin.com/677m
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

I wonder if it is the result of the udev rules for wifi as they were discontinued before LM18 was released, you must have upgraded from LM17

Code: Select all

sudo rm /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
Reboot
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

Still no difference, latest log: http://termbin.com/ilcs
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig wlan0 up

Code: Select all

iwlist scan
Any results?
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

No results.
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep mt76; ls /lib/firmware | grep mt
Post results
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

Code: Select all

[  122.996908] ==>mt7610u_chip_onoff(): OnOff:1, Reset= 0, pAd->WlanFunCtrl:0x0, Reg-WlanFunCtrl=0xff000003
[  122.997659] usbcore: registered new interface driver mt7610u
[ 1508.353734] usb 1-12: loading firmware mt7610u.bin
[ 1508.359941] usb 1-12: firmware mt7610u.bin loaded
[ 1508.951721] /home/michael/wireless/mt7610u/chips/mt76x0.c:1710 assert (pAd->TxPower[choffset].Channel == 36)failed
[ 1508.959756] mt76x0_read_tx_alc_info_from_eeprom: EEPROM_MT76x0_TEMPERATURE_OFFSET (0xD1) = 0xf8
[ 1508.959757] mt76x0_read_tx_alc_info_from_eeprom: TemperatureOffset = 0xfffffff8
mt7601u.bin
mt7610u.bin
mt7650.bin
mt7650u.bin
mts_cdma.fw
mts_edge.fw
mts_gsm.fw
mts_mt9234mu.fw
mts_mt9234zba.fw
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

So is your wifi on 5Ghz? Channel 36?
TheCorsair
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by TheCorsair »

It wasn't before but I changed it so it is now. Still no connectivity but here is the output:

Code: Select all

[ 1989.015423] ==>mt7610u_chip_onoff(): OnOff:1, Reset= 0, pAd->WlanFunCtrl:0x0, Reg-WlanFunCtrl=0xff000002
[ 1989.017648] usbcore: registered new interface driver mt7610u
mt7601u.bin
mt7610u.bin
mt7650.bin
mt7650u.bin
mts_cdma.fw
mts_edge.fw
mts_gsm.fw
mts_mt9234mu.fw
mts_mt9234zba.fw
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13876
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Link Mint will not recognize my TP-Link AC600

Post by JeremyB »

I am going to give up on this wifi as the MT7610u have been problems for a while in Linux and I had hoped that the newer source code would work. If you can live without having 5Ghz channels find a TP-Link WN722N 150 mbps version 1 and it is plug and play. The version 2 needs source code from github
Locked

Return to “Networking”