Wifi

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Abinr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:52 am

Wifi

Post by Abinr » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:55 am

Installed linux mint a few hours ago and i noticed i cannot find wifi in it!!! :| :| Where can i acces it

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Wifi

Post by JerryF » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:14 am

Please run the following command from Terminal, the copy and paste the results between [code][/code] tags.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Abinr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Wifi

Post by Abinr » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:52 am

Code: Select all

System:    Host: abin-HP-Laptop-15-da0xxx Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.8 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: HP product: HP Laptop 15-da0xxx v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: N/A
           Mobo: HP model: 84A7 v: 80.24 serial: N/A
           UEFI: Insyde v: F.02 date: 05/24/2018
Battery    BAT1: charge: 39.6 Wh 96.4% condition: 41.0/41.0 Wh (100%)
           model: Hewlett-Packard PABAS0241231 status: Charging
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-8250U (-MT-MCP-) 
           arch: Kaby Lake rev.10 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 14400
           clock speeds: max: 3400 MHz 1: 801 MHz 2: 800 MHz 3: 800 MHz
           4: 800 MHz 5: 800 MHz 6: 800 MHz 7: 800 MHz 8: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel UHD Graphics 620 bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GM108M [GeForce MX110] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting,nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.01hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce MX110/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.77 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-20-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: eno1 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek Device d723 port: 3000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (0.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HGST_HTS541010B7 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 916G used: 8.1G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 47.0C mobo: 29.8C gpu: 0.0:50C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 308 Uptime: 45 min Memory: 1159.5/7891.7MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0 
Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Wifi

Post by JerryF » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:03 am

From what I found on the web, this is the driver you'll need to install:

https://github.com/smlinux/rtl8723de
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Abinr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Wifi

Post by Abinr » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:05 am

how to install??

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Wifi

Post by JerryF » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:11 am

There's a Read.me at the bottom with Terminal commands to perform.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Abinr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Wifi

Post by Abinr » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:18 am

Code: Select all

System:    Host: abin-HP-Laptop-15-da0xxx Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.8 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: HP product: HP Laptop 15-da0xxx v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: N/A
           Mobo: HP model: 84A7 v: 80.24 serial: N/A
           UEFI: Insyde v: F.02 date: 05/24/2018
Battery    BAT1: charge: 40.8 Wh 99.4% condition: 41.0/41.0 Wh (100%)
           model: Hewlett-Packard PABAS0241231 status: Charging
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-8250U (-MT-MCP-) 
           arch: Kaby Lake rev.10 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 14400
           clock speeds: max: 3400 MHz 1: 3399 MHz 2: 3400 MHz 3: 3400 MHz
           4: 3400 MHz 5: 3400 MHz 6: 3400 MHz 7: 3400 MHz 8: 3399 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel UHD Graphics 620 bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GM108M [GeForce MX110] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting,nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.01hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce MX110/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.77 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-20-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: eno1 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek Device d723 port: 3000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (0.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HGST_HTS541010B7 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 916G used: 8.3G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 52.5C mobo: 29.8C gpu: 0.0:56C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 235 Uptime: 1 min Memory: 1008.4/7891.7MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56

Abinr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Wifi

Post by Abinr » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:20 am

Code: Select all

abin@abin-HP-Laptop-15-da0xxx:~$ git clone https://github.com/smlinux/rtl8723de.git -b 4.15-up
Cloning into 'rtl8723de'...
remote: Enumerating objects: 569, done.
remote: Total 569 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 569
Receiving objects: 100% (569/569), 2.62 MiB | 300.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (197/197), done.
abin@abin-HP-Laptop-15-da0xxx:~$ dkms add ./rtl8723de
Error! You must be root to use this command.
abin@abin-HP-Laptop-15-da0xxx:~$ dkms install rtl8723de/5.1.1.8_21285.20171026_COEX20170111-1414
Error! You must be root to use this command.
abin@abin-HP-Laptop-15-da0xxx:~$ depmod -a

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Wifi

Post by JerryF » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:30 am

For the commands that say Error, use the word sudo first, then the command.

example:

sudo dkms add ./rtl8723de

It'll ask for a password. Use your login password.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Abinr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Wifi

Post by Abinr » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:35 am

Code: Select all

[sudo] password for abin: 

Creating symlink /var/lib/dkms/rtl8723de/5.1.1.8_21285.20171026_COEX20170111-1414/source ->
                 /usr/src/rtl8723de-5.1.1.8_21285.20171026_COEX20170111-1414

DKMS: add completed.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Wifi

Post by JerryF » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:45 am

Have you completed the rest of the commands with sudo that had an message saying "Error! You must be root to use this command."?

If so, paste the result of the following to see if the driver has been installed:

Code: Select all

inxi -nz
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”