[solved] Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au on Mint 17.1

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Ocean
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Milano, Italia

[solved] Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au on Mint 17.1

Post by Ocean » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:59 pm

I have to install the rtl8812au drivers on Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon, I have tried this: viewtopic.php?t=191361#p990997 but gave me Error.
Last edited by Ocean on Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon & KDE 64bit - Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64 bit
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< My Flickr >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9448
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by JeremyB » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:03 pm

Post results from terminal for

Code: Select all

lsusb

User avatar
Ocean
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Milano, Italia

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by Ocean » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:08 pm

Code: Select all

Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:8000 Intel Corp. 
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:8008 Intel Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 003: ID e0ff:0005  
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0bda:8812 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8812AU 802.11a/b/g/n/ac WLAN Adapter
Bus 003 Device 004: ID 1c4f:0002 SiGma Micro Keyboard TRACER Gamma Ivory
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon & KDE 64bit - Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64 bit
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< My Flickr >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9448
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by JeremyB » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:14 pm

Doesn't sudo apt-get install rtl8812au-dkms work after a reboot?

User avatar
Ocean
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Milano, Italia

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by Ocean » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:23 pm

Sorry I'm inexperienced in Linux and I'm not native English language.
What should I do?
Reboot immediately or give first the command and then reboot?
Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon & KDE 64bit - Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64 bit
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< My Flickr >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9448
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by JeremyB » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:25 pm

Run the command, then reboot

User avatar
Ocean
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Milano, Italia

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by Ocean » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:33 pm

The response of the terminal:

Code: Select all

E: Impossibile trovare il pacchetto rtl8812au-dkms
Translation: "E: Could not find package Rtl8812au-dkms"
Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon & KDE 64bit - Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64 bit
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< My Flickr >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9448
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by JeremyB » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:45 pm

Any reason you can't use LM18 on that laptop?

User avatar
Ocean
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Milano, Italia

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by Ocean » Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:59 am

Simply because even update to 17.2 would make me lose many Applets Extensions Desklets of Cinnamon and other customizations to which I keep.
Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon & KDE 64bit - Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64 bit
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< My Flickr >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

User avatar
Ocean
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Milano, Italia

Re: Install drivers for Realtek rtl8812au

Post by Ocean » Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:00 pm

Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon & KDE 64bit - Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64 bit
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< My Flickr >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”