new project, want to get MT7630e adapter to work on 5g

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2875
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

new project, want to get MT7630e adapter to work on 5g

Post by AZgl1500 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:48 pm

this is my ASUS which JeremyB created a special script to make the adapter work "every time" a new kernel is released. and thank you Jeremy for that.

Now, with my new Satellite internet service having introduced a lot of testing, I got reminded that 5g channels are a lot faster than 2.4g WiFi..... knew that, just forgot it.

my testing with my cellphone proved that the ViaSat modem passes data much faster on 5g than it does on 2.4g.

so, how do I get this MT7630e WiFi adapter to see the 5g channels?
Currently it only sees the 2.4g channels.

Code: Select all

 sudo iw reg get
[sudo] password for john: 
country US: DFS-FCC
	(2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
	(5170 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 23), (N/A)
	(5250 - 5330 @ 80), (N/A, 23), (0 ms), DFS
	(5490 - 5730 @ 160), (N/A, 23), (0 ms), DFS
	(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
	(57240 - 63720 @ 2160), (N/A, 40), (N/A)
	

Code: Select all

inxi -Fzxd
System:    Host: john-TP500LA Kernel: 4.15.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: ASUSTeK (portable) product: TP500LA v: 1.0
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: TP500LA v: 1.0 Bios: American Megatrends v: TP500LA.203 date: 06/11/2014
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-4030U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 7582
           clock speeds: max: 1800 MHz 1: 1795 MHz 2: 1795 MHz 3: 1795 MHz 4: 1795 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.01hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.1
           IF: enp2s0f1 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: MEDIATEK MT7630e 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: mt7630e v: 2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0f0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (59.6% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: Samsung_SSD_860 size: 500.1GB temp: 0C
           Optical: No optical drives detected.
Partition: ID-1: / size: 28G used: 13G (48%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /home size: 164G used: 106G (68%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2700
Info:      Processes: 195 Uptime: 6 min Memory: 941.3/11875.0MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9459
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: new project, want to get MT7630e adapter to work on 5g

Post by JeremyB » Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:08 pm

Check iwlist chan as that wifi might be 2.4 GHz only

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2875
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: new project, want to get MT7630e adapter to work on 5g

Post by AZgl1500 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:26 am

JeremyB wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:08 pm
Check iwlist chan as that wifi might be 2.4 GHz only

Code: Select all

$ iwlist chan
wlp3s0f0  11 channels in total; available frequencies :
          Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
          Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
          Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
          Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
          Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
          Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
          Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
          Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
          Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
          Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
          Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
          Current Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)

enp2s0f1  no frequency information.

lo        no frequency information.

john@john-TP500LA ~ $ 

so, am I to conclude that it does not support 5g?

if so, this laptop is going to the dogs, and I am going to get another one for my Daily Driver.

I also have another problem with it, a new thread for that.....

has to do with not being able to download from WeTransfer on ViaSat in 18.3, but it will with LMDE3. same hardware... Latency is 650 mS

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9459
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: new project, want to get MT7630e adapter to work on 5g

Post by JeremyB » Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:11 am

You could get https://www.amazon.com/Dual-Band-Wirles ... intel+7260 as long as this one looks like the same profile as the MT7630e

Not much can be done with latency on satellites

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2875
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: new project, want to get MT7630e adapter to work on 5g

Post by AZgl1500 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:03 pm

JeremyB wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:11 am
You could get https://www.amazon.com/Dual-Band-Wirles ... intel+7260 as long as this one looks like the same profile as the MT7630e

Not much can be done with latency on satellites
Hmmm, the WiFi card looks like what I remember seeing in my laptop when I replaced the broken screen.
I did some speed testing with my cellphone on 5g versus 2.4 g, and the difference in response is definitely worth me getting the 5g card.

yeah, nothing can be done with the Latency...
but just as a comment, this morning between 0900-1100 CST USA while just surfing around, I got to noticing that I could click on a link and the page would display in less than 1.5 seconds.... that is just about as fast as my DSL connection is.

all the goodie two shoes must have been in church, because now it is down to the normal 1001, 1002, 1003, 1004 and it is up.
sigh! my daughter and I just discussed this a few minutes ago, and the UptimeNetworkMonitor program has not recorded a single outage since the ViaSat terminal was installed and tuned up with a fresh new modem.... that is now 46 hours w/o a single blip....

so, a slow internet that never misses is a lot better than one that has 27 outages in an 18 hour period.

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”