No network connection with Win10 dual boot

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
brackj

No network connection with Win10 dual boot

Post by brackj »

Not sure this is the correct place to ask for assistance. I am rather new to Linux, on and off user due to frustration.

I recently dual booted with windows 10. Linux is on a different HDD and partition separate from my win 10 installation. Once install is completed I can get a network address, the NIC appears to be working as expected. At that point, in order to get the grub menu to work I have to run update-grub. Then when I reboot I get the option to select my win10 installation. Once I boot into windows 10, then go back to the Linux mint 19.1 Tessa the NIC never pulls a DHCP address. The icon stays looking like a circle until I finally get the disconnected notification.

What would cause this? I also tried setting a static IP in the /etc/network/interface using VI editor and rebooted. The NIC holds the IP but I still cannot get out to the internet, nor can I even ping my router.

My NIC is the integrated NIC on my motherboard. My MOBO is an Asus Maximus VI.

Any assistance would be appreciated. If i can get this figured out, and start using Linux as my main OS that would be awesome!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
qbit

Re: No network connection with Win10 dual boot

Post by qbit »

into windows 10, then go back to the Linux mint 19.1 Tessa the NIC never pulls a DHCP address.
Does this make a difference when you run a warm reboot, say from win to linux, or a cold boot with the dual option. When you coldly reboot your computer the mashine has to be turned off before, no boot from any running program