Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
bjku
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:34 pm

Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by bjku » Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:24 am

Hi
The Wifi end of Network Manager no longer connects, nor list available networks, no matter how many times I rescan.
This is a sudden change. It was working well for sometime and just disconnected yesterday.

The Wifi works when I boot with my installation USB.
I tried to reinstall Linux Mint 19.1, and it worked temporarily, but this morning it still doesn't detect.

Any steps I should take to solve this?

Thanks
BJKU

User avatar
kc1di
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5259
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by kc1di » Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:37 am

go to a terminal and type this code and post the output here

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

bjku
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by bjku » Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:45 am

Thanks for your response, here is what turned up after I punched in inxi - Fxz

System:
Host: bj-VivoBook-ASUSLaptop-X510QA-F510QA Kernel: 5.0.0-23-generic x86_64
bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10
Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X510QA_F510QA
v: 1.0 serial: <filter>
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X510QA v: 1.0 serial: <filter>
UEFI: American Megatrends v: X510QA.306 date: 04/23/2019
Battery:
ID-1: BAT0 charge: 8.8 Wh condition: 39.0/43.0 Wh (91%)
model: ASUSTeK ASUS Battery status: Discharging
CPU:
Topology: Quad Core model: AMD A12-9720P RADEON R7 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G
bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Excavator rev: 1 L2 cache: 1024 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
bogomips: 21558
Speed: 1391 MHz min/max: 1400/2700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1390 2: 1367
3: 1370 4: 1393
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Wani [Radeon R5/R6/R7 Graphics] vendor: ASUSTeK Carrizo
driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 00:01.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: amdgpu,ati
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon R7 Graphics (CARRIZO DRM 3.27.0
5.0.0-23-generic LLVM 8.0.0)
v: 4.5 Mesa 19.0.2 direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: AMD Kabini HDMI/DP Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel
v: kernel bus ID: 00:01.1
Device-2: AMD Family 15h Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel
v: kernel bus ID: 00:09.2
Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.0.0-23-generic
Network:
Device-1: Realtek RTL8822BE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac WiFi adapter
vendor: AzureWave driver: rtw_pci v: N/A port: e000 bus ID: 01:00.0
IF: wlp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 476.94 GiB used: 9.01 GiB (1.9%)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: SPCC Solid State Disk size: 476.94 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 467.96 GiB used: 9.00 GiB (1.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 46.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 46 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 205 Uptime: N/A Memory: 7.31 GiB used: 632.0 MiB (8.4%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20
inxi: 3.0.27

bjku
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by bjku » Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:12 am

I also tried this to no avail: mokutil --sb-state
that includes restarting

HAWR
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 288
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by HAWR » Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:50 am

Hello bjku,

check if you accidentally activated the airplane mode. Is the wifi enabled with Fn+F2? If that doesn't help, than let's have a look, whether there is a soft or hard block by running the following command in the terminal:

Code: Select all

rfkill list all
Please, show the output here.

User avatar
kc1di
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5259
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by kc1di » Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:02 pm

Here is a page that should be of help follow the instructions to switch the antenna first for RTL8822BE chipset.
Let us know if it works for you. https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... altek.html
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

bjku
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by bjku » Sat Aug 03, 2019 9:42 am

I tried above suggestions to no avail.
Thanks for your troubles.
I then randomly decided to go back to kernel 4.15; I can now access Wifi.

User avatar
kc1di
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5259
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Wifi - Doesn't Seem to Work - Need Steps to activate

Post by kc1di » Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:37 pm

Perhaps the driver has not been compiled for newer Kernel yet.
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”