Problem turning on wireless.<SOLVED>

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Bat Boy 42
Level 1
Level 1

Problem turning on wireless.<SOLVED>

Post by Bat Boy 42 »

Hi, total newbie here. I installed Mint in and old HP Pavilion g6 to get my feet wet in my incursion to LInux, and I think I already messed up!

Not sure if relevant but before installing Mint, last time I accessed Windows I turn off a WIFI button in my keyboard (it shows blue if it were turned on and red if not) because since it was an old model I didn't want the computer prompting me for updates.

Anyways, no I installed Mint and can get an internet connection directly with a wire but the WIFI button remains in red if I try to turn it on, but I do notice that if I press it the Bluetooth icon goes "gray" and if I press it again it "turns on".

When I use the Driver Manager it said to install

I'm using Mint x64/ Cinnamon.

inxi tells me:

Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
sleeper12
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Problem turning on wireless.

Post by sleeper12 »

What does this show:

Code: Select all

rfkill list && iwconfig && mokutil --sb-state 
hglee
Level 6
Level 6

Post by hglee »

Bat Boy 42 wrote:... last time I accessed Windows I turn off a WIFI button in my keyboard ...

So you're dual-booting? Disable Fast StartUp in Windows power management, otherwise Windows may put your wifi into a frozen state. And enable your wifi before you shut down Windows.

Confirm that Secure Boot is disabled in your laptop BIOS, as it's known to interfere with device drivers.

Linux Mint 21 Vanessa, MATE 1.26.0, kernel 5.15.0*, Dell 2-in-1
AMD Ryzen 7 5825U / Barcelo iGPU - 14" WUXGA Touchscreen