Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mandalay
Level 1
Level 1

help with zyxel wireless adapter driver

Post by mandalay » Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:13 am

Hello,

I am very new to linux. Just started downloading different distros and having same problem with connecting to the internet.

I really dont know command line stuff either, just used to windows mainly.
I tried ubuntu, kubuntu, mandrake, mepis, sabayon and now linux mint.

I so far seem to like this flavor and the name too. I have the Bea release.

I have a zyxel G-202 wireless usb adapter but I dont know how to load the driver. I just have a windows driver CD for it.

Can someone walk me through steps to get it working? I dont even know what dapper, edgy, wiki, and all this stuff is about yet either. I do like KDE desktop when I was messing with Sabayon linux. I have a lot to learn and so far want to stick with Linux Mint.

AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4

Post by AlsaPhil » Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:56 am

Hi,

You could begin at first with studying in depth the U/Kubuntu OS, here: https://help.ubuntu.com.
You will receive a lot of informations about install, material, process etc.
But please don't get ahead of schedule... Do study step by step. The way is sometimes longer, but the result is a reward :D
Regarding your connection, what says the manufacturer? On the ZyXel website, drivers seem only to exist for MS...

clem
Level 12
Level 12

Post by clem » Sun Dec 24, 2006 5:47 am

Did you check mintWifi ?

Have a look in your home folder. There's a Documents folder which contains a link to mintWifi. If you deleted it, you'll find it there : /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/index.html

mintWifi guides you through the installation of your Wireless card.

Clem

mandalay
Level 1
Level 1

wireless usb adapter

Post by mandalay » Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:30 am

Thanks for your responses. since I am so new to linux I dont know what

/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/index.html means... do I type that in a terminal command line?