WIFI Hard Blocked

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
lapubell
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:48 pm

WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by lapubell »

I'm having trouble removing a hard block from my wifi card. I've read a bunch of different topics dealing with this issue, and it seems like it's kinda hard to beat. Any ideas from the linux gurus?

I'm running LMDE, Lenovo ideapad y650, intel card.

output of mintwifi:

Code: Select all

-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
  -- Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 5100 AGN [Shiloh] Network Connection
      ==> PCI ID = 8086:4237
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
net5416 : driver installed
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth1      no wireless extensions.

vboxnet0  no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=off   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:23:5a:d0:60:b0  
          inet addr:192.168.3.11  Bcast:192.168.3.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::223:5aff:fed0:60b0/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:271610 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:266956 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:204721283 (195.2 MiB)  TX bytes:195862750 (186.7 MiB)
          Interrupt:17 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:16096 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:16096 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:4432145 (4.2 MiB)  TX bytes:4432145 (4.2 MiB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Reloading /etc/samba/smb.conf: smbd only.
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:         192.168.3.5
Address:        192.168.3.5#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.224.148
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.224.144
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.224.145
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.224.146
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.224.147
output of rfkill list all (wifi switch on):

Code: Select all

0: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
3: phy2: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: yes
output of rfkill list all (wifi switch off):

Code: Select all

0: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: yes
3: phy2: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: yes
phy2 is usually phy0, but i've been experimenting with removing the iwlagn module and flicking the switch and modprobing it back. any other questions anyone have? I can run any command someone would like and give you the output, but I'm super stumped.

thanks in advance, go linux go!
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by rob2uk »

This should get you up & running:

Code: Select all

rfkill unblock all
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1355
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by TBABill »

I think the rfkill unblock will only remove a soft block, but I could be wrong. I have seen posts with the persistent hard block where users removed acer-wmi, but you have a Lenovo so I don't know if there is similar for it. Still searching and will post back if I find a solution from a recent post. So many old ones that I'm trying to overlook those for now.
wil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:26 am

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by wil »

Isn't the hard-block usually a result of the hardware switch?
TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1355
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by TBABill »

wil wrote:Isn't the hard-block usually a result of the hardware switch?
Usually it is, but the Atheros, at least the ones using the ath5k driver I have seen, have gotten back to working from a hard blocked by

Code: Select all

sudo rmmod -f ath5k
and then

Code: Select all

sudo rfkill unblock all
and then

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe ath5k nohwcrypt
Edit: the addition of the nohwycrypt is NOT what fixed the hard blocked. That was done with just re-enabling the module with modprobe ath5k. The nohwycrypt was to correct an inability to use any secure network.
wil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:26 am

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by wil »

There seem to be reports out there that the hardware switch will reverse if it's resumed, so basically turn it on and run rfkill list and turn if off and repeat to see if there's any difference.

Some source.
http://linuxtrap.wordpress.com/2009/11/ ... ll-laptop/
lapubell
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by lapubell »

yeah, I was reading about the reversed switch issues, but couldn't get it to go away no matter what way it was when I booted up.
@rob2uk unblock all only removes soft blocks. Thanks for the help anyway.

this laptop has both a switch in the front, and a fn+F5 toggle.
fn+F5 seems to be toggling the soft block correctly on both devices:

Code: Select all

0: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: yes
        Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: yes
        Hard blocked: yes
(press that combo again)

Code: Select all

0: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: yes
i'm going to reboot now with the switch turned off. full power off and power on. will report back in a minute to see if anything changed.

thanks everyone.
lapubell
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by lapubell »

yeah, still no change. I even got the full apt-get upgrade under my belt too.

as of this morning I am completely up to date with LMDE, and no matter what combo of boot up switch on/off that hard lock won't go away. *grumble grumble...

any other thoughts out there at all? I would love to get this working again. here's a little bit more info:
I have this laptop dual booted with an older version of Linux (Sidux, I'm a debian fan :) ) that is all tweaked to perfection for music making, and this affects that distro too. I have no idea how, unless it really is a hardware problem. This first showed up about a month ago while running LMDE, and I was annoyed so i rebooted into sidux to get online, but I couldn't get online with that distro either.

should I try and see if this is also blocked if I boot from a live USB stick? would that actually help narrow anything down?

some people have reported similiar errors to mine, and have been able to fix it by booting into windows and flicking the switch back and forth, then rebooting back to *nix. too bad I wiped that "OS" from my hard drive a long time ago, but this should be able to be fixed, am I right?
wil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:26 am

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by wil »

I'd definitely try a live cd next, maybe try the flick back and forth from there just for kicks.
TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1355
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by TBABill »

Does it happen in both the 2.6.32 and 2.6.38 kernels?
lapubell
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: WIFI Hard Blocked

Post by lapubell »

very good question that i have not checked.

i'll do more testing and post back in a day or two. stupid work. makes me stop trying to fix my machine and build sites with this stupid ethernet chord out the side of my laptop. when I get the change to tinker with my machine again i'll boot up on the old kernel and try.

I'll also do the live cd test with an old distro i have lying around. now where did i put that ubuntu 7.10 cd...
Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”