WIFI not working

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

WIFI not working

Post by big_dog1968 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:36 pm

Just installed Mint 11 LXDE on my mom's HP Pavilion dv1411se. Tried using NDISGTK, but when I click "install new driver",it asks where it is. I have no clue what to do. WIFI worked under XP so I know the hardware is fine.
Mintwifi yields the following:
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
==> PCI ID = 14e4:4318 (rev 02)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:c0:9f:db:c5:3e
inet addr:192.168.1.137 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::2c0:9fff:fedb:c53e/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:9376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4897 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:12058258 (12.0 MB) TX bytes:487034 (487.0 KB)
Interrupt:16 Base address:0x3000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
[sudo] password for eunice:
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server: 65.32.5.111
Address: 65.32.5.111#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.104
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.105
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.106
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.147
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.99
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.103

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9027
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: WIFI not working

Post by richyrich » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:15 pm

Your card is found in the supported list (link is in the comments of the tutorial), so this tutorial should work for you. If you prefer, the Package Manager can be an alternative to the terminal.

http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/469

good luck, richy

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: WIFI not working

Post by big_dog1968 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:07 pm

This is the output I get when I do this:
sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter firmware-b43-installer
[sudo] password for eunice:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
b43-fwcutter is already the newest version.
b43-fwcutter set to manually installed.
firmware-b43-installer is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 7 not upgraded.
==========
I took a screenshot of network connections and it still shows none available, even though I am right next to the wireless router and have several other devices connected. Maybe I am assuming it would be the same as XP and it is different? With XP all available networks show automatically, and once I have successfully logged into a wireless network, I get logged in automatically, if it is available, whenever I turn on my laptop in the future. Is that not how it works with Mint? I have never had a laptop with mint on it, just wired PC's which always connected automatically, so I don't know.
Is there a way to see if the device is working properly. I thought I found an xp style device manager, but it just shows the hardware, but not what driver is installed or if it is working properly. Appreciate your continued help. Here is the screen shot of network connections:
Attachments
Network Connections.png
Network Connections.png (22.92 KiB) Viewed 2253 times

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9027
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: WIFI not working

Post by richyrich » Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:52 pm

Hmm, can you post the output from these terminal commands ?

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep b43

Code: Select all

rfkill list all
oh, can you see the wireless light? to know that it is on?

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: WIFI not working

Post by big_dog1968 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:00 pm

The first command produced nothing: Here is the output from both commands:

eunice@eunice-HP-Pavilion-dv1000-EH443UA-ABA ~ $ lsmod | grep b43
eunice@eunice-HP-Pavilion-dv1000-EH443UA-ABA ~ $ sudo lsmod | grep b43
[sudo] password for eunice:
eunice@eunice-HP-Pavilion-dv1000-EH443UA-ABA ~ $ rfkill list all
0: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
=============
The laptop has a button you can press to turn wifi on and off, and has a light that tells you if it is on or off, but it does nothing when I press it, no light.

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9027
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: WIFI not working

Post by richyrich » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:20 pm

What is the output from:

Code: Select all

sudo lshw -C network

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: WIFI not working

Post by big_dog1968 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:25 pm

eunice@eunice-HP-Pavilion-dv1000-EH443UA-ABA ~ $ sudo lshw -C network
[sudo] password for eunice:
*-network:0
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:06:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 10
serial: 00:c0:9f:db:c5:3e
size: 100Mbit/s
capacity: 100Mbit/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=full ip=192.168.1.137 latency=64 link=yes maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100Mbit/s
resources: irq:16 ioport:3000(size=256) memory:b0108000-b01080ff
*-network:1 UNCLAIMED
description: Network controller
product: BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 6
bus info: pci@0000:06:06.0
version: 02
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master
configuration: latency=32
resources: memory:b0104000-b0105fff

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9027
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: WIFI not working

Post by richyrich » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:42 pm

UNCLAIMED . . sounds like it's deactivated to me . . Try this command, then try your wireless on/off switch and/or the Fn key combination for wireless.

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: WIFI not working

Post by big_dog1968 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:52 pm

richyrich wrote:UNCLAIMED . . sounds like it's deactivated to me . . Try this command, then try your wireless on/off switch and/or the Fn key combination for wireless.

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43
richyrich, I wish I could be like you! You got it. I was going our of my mind with this. Thanks!

Now if I could just remember the password for my wireless router...;-)

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: WIFI not working

Post by big_dog1968 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:19 pm

richyrich wrote:UNCLAIMED . . sounds like it's deactivated to me . . Try this command, then try your wireless on/off switch and/or the Fn key combination for wireless.

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43
Update:

This worked, but when I turned off laptop and later turned it back on, the problem was back. Is there a way to make this permanent?

User avatar
zombie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:45 pm
Location: Longmont Colorado

Re: WIFI not working

Post by zombie » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:05 am

big_dog1968 wrote:
richyrich wrote:UNCLAIMED . . sounds like it's deactivated to me . . Try this command, then try your wireless on/off switch and/or the Fn key combination for wireless.

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43
Update:

This worked, but when I turned off laptop and later turned it back on, the problem was back. Is there a way to make this permanent?
Almost there!
Just add "b43" (no quotes) to /etc/modules. That will load the module at boot time.

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: WIFI not working

Post by big_dog1968 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:48 am

Thanks Zombie. Finally home free!

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”