Mint-KDE 17.3 Mouse Middle click (tabs) issues-problems

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
freddyflint99
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:47 pm

Mint-KDE 17.3 Mouse Middle click (tabs) issues-problems

Postby freddyflint99 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:08 pm

Hi,
I've had this problem since the last time I installed 17.3, I never had this issue before, and I really don't feel like re-installing Linux Mint 17.3 again!

almost every time I middle click a link in either FF or even on a virtual machine, I get multiple tabs opening. I have search to see if you can uninstall and reinstall the mouse drivers, but I cant find anything.
I tried this guide and got an error "xserver not installed"
https://www.techwalla.com/articles/how-to-reinstall-usb-mouse-drivers-in-ubuntu-using-the-command-line
but there is no date on the article.

This doesn't indicate any solution - https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=119994

Are there any suggestions on how to purge-reinstall-other the mouse drivers, or am I barking up the wrong tree ?
Thanks
Fred

lmuserx4849
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:55 am

Re: Mint-KDE 17.3 Mouse Middle click (tabs) issues-problems

Postby lmuserx4849 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:37 pm

Is it hardware --- as in your mouse is worn out?
Clean the mouse and try.
Do you have another mouse that you can swap and try?

Is it software?
Look for adjustments to the mouse like acceleration or sensitivity.

If it is just firefox, adjust firefox. If globally, adjust in kde.

Are the firefox "multiple tabs" empty pages or duplicates of the link that was clicked?

freddyflint99
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:47 pm

Re: Mint-KDE 17.3 Mouse Middle click (tabs) issues-problems

Postby freddyflint99 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:31 pm

lmuserx4849 wrote:Is it hardware --- as in your mouse is worn out?
Clean the mouse and try.
Do you have another mouse that you can swap and try?

Yes I have. First thing. No difference. I have even tried different USB ports, and the mouse I am using is newish.
PS. Do you know where I can get an Optical Cleaner from?
lmuserx4849 wrote:Is it software?
Look for adjustments to the mouse like acceleration or sensitivity.

I have, and I cant find anything. I have no Proprietary Drivers Installed, and the SystemSettings-InputDevices is default except number of scroll Lines. I don’t see anything to do with Acceleration.
lmuserx4849 wrote:If it is just firefox, adjust firefox. If globally, adjust in kde.
Are the firefox "multiple tabs" empty pages or duplicates of the link that was clicked?

Umm I certain that the only thing I middle click on is FF Links. If there is something else I could middle click on to test with, let me know.
Yes Duplicates of the link that was clicked. This is also inside a VM and on both FF and Sea Monkey.

Thanks for your reply


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests