Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
linuxidemil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 9:03 pm

Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby linuxidemil » Mon May 14, 2012 2:31 pm

Hello again, what I'm trying to do here is to install KDE desktop, then remove the GNOME 3 desktop on Linux Mint 12..

Right now I've the Linux Mint 12 Gnome edition.. and want to install KDE over it without actually downloading the KDE image and reinstall everything etc.. if that's possible..

On Ubuntu you can just simple type

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop
( to install KDE interface and applications ) then

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove activity-log-manager-common activity-log-manager-control-center doc-base duplicity empathy empathy-common eog espeak espeak-data evince evince-common evolution-data-server evolution-data-server-common example-content
<< this code will remove all the Gnome apps including the interface/desktop, so you stay with a pure KDE desktop.. these are some of the apps, the list is longer, but tried to keep it short

Is there a similar way to do this on Mint?

Thanks :)

User avatar
hellfire695
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby hellfire695 » Tue May 15, 2012 10:51 am

If want kde without gnome then why not download the kde edition?

linuxidemil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 9:03 pm

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby linuxidemil » Tue May 15, 2012 12:26 pm

hellfire695 wrote:If want kde without gnome then why not download the kde edition?


Internet quite slow and don't have any USB sticks or CDs left.. lol.. but that wasn't my question :P

User avatar
hellfire695
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby hellfire695 » Tue May 15, 2012 1:57 pm

Well i do apologize but yes mint uses ubuntu's repositories
so yeah that might work but that method can cause issues

but in short yes same technique

User avatar
bu99zy
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:59 am

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby bu99zy » Tue May 15, 2012 8:00 pm

For the full KDE

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-full


Standard KDE

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-standard


Minimal

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-plasma-desktop


You won't need to remove any gnome items

linuxidemil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 9:03 pm

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby linuxidemil » Wed May 16, 2012 6:17 pm

bu99zy wrote:For the full KDE

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-full


Standard KDE

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-standard


Minimal

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-plasma-desktop


You won't need to remove any gnome items


That's what I was looking for, thanks mate, btw JUST in case.. if I ever need gnome back, is there a terminal code for getting gnome, thanks again :)

User avatar
bu99zy
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:59 am

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby bu99zy » Wed May 16, 2012 7:28 pm

linuxidemil wrote:
That's what I was looking for, thanks mate, btw JUST in case.. if I ever need gnome back, is there a terminal code for getting gnome, thanks again :)


You're welcome.

Gnome will still be there, those commands won't remove it. I would also leave Gnome on your computer, trying to remove it might remove an essential library/dependency and could mess up your install. It is handy to have a backup Desktop Environment in case you damage KDE.
Last edited by bu99zy on Wed May 16, 2012 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby cwwgateway » Wed May 16, 2012 7:29 pm

linuxidemil wrote:
bu99zy wrote:For the full KDE

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-full


Standard KDE

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-standard


Minimal

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kde-plasma-desktop


You won't need to remove any gnome items


That's what I was looking for, thanks mate, btw JUST in case.. if I ever need gnome back, is there a terminal code for getting gnome, thanks again :)

You choose it in the login screen which session, but if you uninstall gnome it's sudo apt-get install mint-meta-gnome. Also, if you want Mint KDE add the kde repos (gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list and add "deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ Lisa-KDE Main Upstream Import" then install mint-meta-kde.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid

linuxidemil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 9:03 pm

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby linuxidemil » Mon May 21, 2012 12:10 pm

Yep, everything went well for me, used KDE for a few days but I prefer Gnome to KDE, ( mostly Cinnamon ).. but I still have KDE, no need to remove it anyway, I might try it again in the future, always loved exploring things little by little.. :)

main
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:42 am

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby main » Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:58 am

I have launched Synaptic and it offers me both of
kubuntu-desktop and kde-full
(as well as all the others)
what are the advantages of each ?

abnvolk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Install KDE Desktop over GNOME 3?

Postby abnvolk » Sat Jun 30, 2012 11:04 am

The kubuntu-desktop contain Kubuntu branding, so your Mint will look like Kubuntu. The kde-full doesn't have any brandings.
Kde-full has many applications, whereas kubuntu-desktop has applications which come with Kubuntu. You can mark them to see which applications will be installed.
You should also consider kde-standard or kde-plasma-desktop, they are lighter and contain fewer applications.


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest