Installing Plasma with Cinammon installed

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
miggoycor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:42 am
Location: Philippines

Installing Plasma with Cinammon installed

Postby miggoycor » Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:02 am

I am currently using cinnamon, but I want to try KDE, but I do not want redundant software installed. So my question is how do you install the kde plasma desktop and widgets without installing the redundant software?

User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: Installing Plasma with Cinammon installed

Postby Orbmiser » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:47 am

Yep given up on installing multiple DE's as they always seem to conflict with each other.
And many times don't get the full functionality or features.

So use Redo Backup http://redobackup.org/ and backup my linux partitions to a external usb.
That way can do a fresh install of whatever flavor desktop. And only takes me 10mins to restore back to what I was using before.

Have many distro's setup with installed programs and desktop tweaked to my preference than back that up to external usb.
.

User avatar
frsu
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:26 am

Re: Installing Plasma with Cinammon installed

Postby frsu » Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:36 pm

Works like a charm. I installed in MInt 14: Mate, Cinnamon, KDE and even Bodhi. No problem.

danielfnj96
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:06 pm

Re: Installing Plasma with Cinammon installed

Postby danielfnj96 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:39 pm

Well what i would do if i were you is resize your current linux mint partition to be smaller and leave the extra space unallocated (i'd open a good 20gb for kde) and install linux mint kde alongside cinnamon so if you dont like it you just delete the partition and do what you want with it afterwards and then also if you decide kde is better you can delete the cinnamon partition or just install it alongside cinnamon.

User avatar
hal8000
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: Installing Plasma with Cinammon installed

Postby hal8000 » Sat May 04, 2013 10:26 am

Well I started with Mint 14 Nadia (KDE) fresh install.

I used synaptic to install all components of Mate Cinnamon. No conflicts, although each
desktop menu will contain items relating to both desktops... which can be edited to
suit. A full KDE and Cinnamon desktop is 5.6G on my / partition so just make sure
you have enough space.


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests