Automatically mount hard drives?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
LinuxForever
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:05 pm

Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by LinuxForever »

Is there anyway to make KDE or something mount my hard drives when I boot up Mint? Thanks for any help.

deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by deadguy »

Hello LinuxForever,

you sure can! (actually, you mount the partitions on the hard drives)

you'll need to edit fstab.

theres a good Ubuntu how to here.

even more info here and here.

in KDE there is also a gui tool for this but, I've found it to be a little quirky so, use at your own risk!
it's in system settings under system administration.

cheers,


Deadguy

deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by deadguy »

Hi papabearak,


that's a very nice tutorial for using KDE's gui tool :D



Cheers,


Deadguy

LinuxForever
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:05 pm

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by LinuxForever »

Thanks guys. I'll read this stuff and see if I can understand it. :?

LinuxForever
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:05 pm

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by LinuxForever »

Deadguy I read those links. It's more simple than I thought it would be. I'm slowly getting used to all this CLI stuff.

Papabearak I tried the menu stuff and it works but I'm worried setting me to root and sudo could be a security problem.

Post Reply

Return to “KDE”