Automatically mount hard drives?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
LinuxForever
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:05 pm

Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by LinuxForever »

Is there anyway to make KDE or something mount my hard drives when I boot up Mint? Thanks for any help.

deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by deadguy »

Hello LinuxForever,

you sure can! (actually, you mount the partitions on the hard drives)

you'll need to edit fstab.

theres a good Ubuntu how to here.

even more info here and here.

in KDE there is also a gui tool for this but, I've found it to be a little quirky so, use at your own risk!
it's in system settings under system administration.

cheers,


Deadguy

User avatar
papabearak
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:37 pm

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by papabearak »

LinuxForever wrote:Is there anyway to make KDE or something mount my hard drives when I boot up Mint? Thanks for any help.
Actually, you might find this tutorial from the Klikit Wiki to be helpful. Klikit and Mint KDE are virtually identical in many ways, and what works for one works just as well for the other. I personally prefer to go the GUI route whenever possible, and edit system files only as a last resort. Read the tutorial here:

http://klikit.pbwiki.com/Mounting+or+Au ... Partitions

Hope this helps. Ben
Image
Using Klikit-Linux 0.1-8 every day, but keeping my eye on Mint KDE

deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by deadguy »

Hi papabearak,


that's a very nice tutorial for using KDE's gui tool :D



Cheers,


Deadguy

LinuxForever
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:05 pm

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by LinuxForever »

Thanks guys. I'll read this stuff and see if I can understand it. :?

User avatar
papabearak
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:37 pm

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by papabearak »

deadguy wrote:Hi papabearak,


that's a very nice tutorial for using KDE's gui tool :D



Cheers,


Deadguy
Thank you. I hope some folks find it useful. Ben
Image
Using Klikit-Linux 0.1-8 every day, but keeping my eye on Mint KDE

LinuxForever
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:05 pm

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by LinuxForever »

Deadguy I read those links. It's more simple than I thought it would be. I'm slowly getting used to all this CLI stuff.

Papabearak I tried the menu stuff and it works but I'm worried setting me to root and sudo could be a security problem.

User avatar
papabearak
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:37 pm

Re: Automatically mount hard drives?

Post by papabearak »

Papabearak I tried the menu stuff and it works but I'm worried setting me to root and sudo could be a security problem.
You can avoid making those changes by logging on as root and doing the remaining steps as root, or you can set sudo and root access for your user account, set the drives up the way you want them the go back and remove root and sudo from your secondary groups list, which will eliminate any security issues. I wrote it the way I did to make it as simple as possible for new users. Ben

Post Reply

Return to “KDE”