Can I install plasma 5?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
ldorigo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:02 am

Can I install plasma 5?

Postby ldorigo » Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:13 am

Hello,

Can I install plasma 5 on my Mint KDE 17 or will it screw things up?

Thank you!!

Luca

rbrick49
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:21 pm
Location: Thailand

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby rbrick49 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 8:48 am

yes my friend you can install neon and may I wish you the best of luck.I installed it from upubuntu website which gives you the ppa,it worked well but now after many updates all I get is a black screen and no answers fom kde
asrock extreme 4 ,Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz,32 gb ram,asus xonar d2x sound card,g930 headset ,dell 29 ultimate monitor,external speakers,,graphics intel haswell desktop, sda voyager ,sdb files,sdc sabayon,sdd linux mint 18c,sde fedora 24

741cc
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 8:00 am

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby 741cc » Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:36 am

rbrick49
...it worked well but now after many updates all I get is a black screen...


Same here. Definately only to play with on a spare machine for now.

User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1232
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby colyn » Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:35 pm

Neon is still in beta a a ways from being stable. I would only recommend installing to a test machine..

I had it installed on a test machine but recently removed it since it is so unstable..

Stick with what you currently have till KDE5 is stable..

romanyacik
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:23 am

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby romanyacik » Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:19 pm

I'm having the same problem with a black screen when trying to start plasma 5. I am using LM 17, and still the forums for KDE are no help. It tells me that plasmashell and krunner crashed, but it won't even let me send a bug report.

rbrick49
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:21 pm
Location: Thailand

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby rbrick49 » Sun Aug 17, 2014 4:19 am

[quote="romanyacik"]I'm having the same problem with a black screen when trying to start plasma 5. I am using LM 17, and still the forums for KDE are no help. It tells me that plasmashell and krunner crashed, but it won't even let me send a bug report.[/quI got some help from kde but in the end my system was so screwed up from updating neon and getting a power outage at the same time, my mint install was doing odd things also ,the only way I got neon to go from black screen to normal was reinstall linux mint 17 kde then reinstall neon, kde 4 and neon some how got mixed together when the power went off. try looking in xsessions errors and see what you getote]
asrock extreme 4 ,Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz,32 gb ram,asus xonar d2x sound card,g930 headset ,dell 29 ultimate monitor,external speakers,,graphics intel haswell desktop, sda voyager ,sdb files,sdc sabayon,sdd linux mint 18c,sde fedora 24

romanyacik
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:23 am

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby romanyacik » Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:53 pm

Code: Select all

/etc/mdm/Xsession: Beginning session setup...
localuser:roman being added to access control list
Script for none started at run_im.
Script for auto started at run_im.
Script for default started at run_im.
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
init:/home/roman/.config/upstart: Configuration directory deleted

This is all it says in the .xsession-errors file

User avatar
goldshirt9
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:42 pm

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby goldshirt9 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:37 am

I appreciate that Plasma 5 isnt as yet suitable for everyday use, but I was wondering when a stable release would be released and what Distro will be using it as standard ?
Notices Kubuntu 15.04 is rumoured to be set to release distro with Plasma 5.
Any news on MInt ????

trashcan86
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Can I install plasma 5?

Postby trashcan86 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:01 pm

Unfortunately the Neon PPA has been taken off Launchpad, the only way to install Plasma 5 is through the ppa:kubuntu-next/ppa, but kubuntu-plasma5-desktop is only accessible to Ubuntu 14.10 and later, which means that Linux Mint users can't use it until 18 (or 17.2 if the Mint devs find a way to install it on 14.04 LTS)


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest