Unable to create io-slave:klauncher said...

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
gonewild
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 3:53 pm

Unable to create io-slave:klauncher said...

Post by gonewild »

Hi,
I'm newbie and I'm on linux mint kde 17.1 64bit version.

I can't access my hard disk with dolphin. It got me this problem:

Unable to create io-slave:klauncher said: Error Loading 'kio_file.'

Before logging in it automatically did a hard disk checker (i think) and autorebooted. I googled for an answer but nothing came useful to me. It seems related with some update I did using update manager (because I really don't have much on this distro).
Can anybody help me?

Code: Select all

giu@mint-305U1A:~ > inxi
CPU~Dual core AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) clocked at Min:825.000Mhz Max:1320.000Mhz Kernel~3.13.0-37-generic x86_64 Up~1:11 Mem~1301.5/3697.7MB HDD~500.1GB(18.0% used) Procs~182 Client~Shell inxi~1.8.4  
giu@mint-305U1A:~ > inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: mint-305U1A Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.2) 
           Desktop: KDE 4.14.2 (Qt 4.8.6) Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca
Machine:   System: SAMSUNG (portable) product: 305U1A version: 06PS
           Mobo: SAMSUNG model: 305U1A/305U1A version: 06PS
           Bios: American Megatrends version: 06PS.M507.20121024.LEO date: 10/24/2012
CPU:       Dual core AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 6586.1 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 825.00 MHz 2: 1320.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6320] bus-ID: 00:01.0 
           X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD PALM GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.1.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.13.0-37-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller 
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter driver: bcma-pci-bridge bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (18.0% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS54505 size: 500.1GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 14G used: 6.3G (49%) fs: ext4 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 63.6C mobo: N/A gpu: 64.0 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 182 Uptime: 1:12 Memory: 1301.6/3697.7MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
gonewild
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: Unable to create io-slave:klauncher said...

Post by gonewild »

I've reinstalled Mint kde from the beginning, so I've bypassed the problem.
Now I have a doubt: could the problem be related with automount partition I made for the ntfs shared partition?

I used this guide:
In the Terminal, enter sudo blkid to get the UUID (Universally Unique Identifier) of the partition you want to mount.
Enter sudo mkdir /media/ntfs to create a mount point
Enter gksu kate /etc/fstab and add the following line in the fstab file: (see Note below about gksu)
UUID=1234567890123456 /media/ntfs ntfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other 0 0
Replace the above 16-digit number with the UUID you've got from step 1, then click 'Save'.
nix0n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:57 am

Re: Unable to create io-slave:klauncher said...

Post by nix0n »

Something similar happened to me, I fixed by "sudo apt-get install kdelibs5-plugins"

If you couldn't read any files it was probably messed-up packages like happened to me. If you could read some files, but not others maybe it was your fstab. I usually don't automount since recent versions of Mint are good at mounting after boot.
Post Reply

Return to “KDE”