[SOLVED]KDE shortcut problem

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
perosoft
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:31 am

[SOLVED]KDE shortcut problem

Postby perosoft » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:41 am

Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 (Qt 5.6.1) Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Desktop Layout Folder View

Create shortcut from menu for firefox, by default "Terminal=false"
Mouse click on shortcut firefox is starting.
Change "Terminal=true"
Mouse click on shortcut firefox is not starting.
Last edited by perosoft on Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
minitux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:05 am

Re: KDE shortcut problem

Postby minitux » Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:58 am

I think it's normal, what should firefox do in the terminal?

Firefox is a graphical application and should not have terminal=true bit only terminal=false
Sorry for my English, is not my language

When you ask for support, put the output of inxi -Fxz

perosoft
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:31 am

Re: KDE shortcut problem

Postby perosoft » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:00 am

Desktop: KDE Plasma 4.14.2 (Qt 4.8.6) Distro: Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa

Is working.
Example with firefox was an example.

User avatar
minitux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:05 am

Re: KDE shortcut problem

Postby minitux » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:06 am

in graphical applications terminal=true not working or working but not in the right manner
Sorry for my English, is not my language

When you ask for support, put the output of inxi -Fxz

perosoft
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:31 am

Re: KDE shortcut problem

Postby perosoft » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:20 am

Wrong answer

Host: romeo-VirtualBox Kernel: 4.8.0-53-generic i686 (32 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.3 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya

Still working
Well i believe is a KDE problem
Like Align to grid off

User avatar
minitux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:05 am

Re: KDE shortcut problem

Postby minitux » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:23 am

I do not need anything to have terminal = true in a .desktop of a graphics application and it does not have any usefulness .... anyway if you're happy ...
Sorry for my English, is not my language

When you ask for support, put the output of inxi -Fxz

perosoft
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:31 am

Re: KDE shortcut problem

Postby perosoft » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:33 am

Is not about i need or i don't need
Is about the concept of freedom, base of linux distros
Desktop: KDE Plasma 4.14.2 (Qt 4.8.6) Distro: Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Is working, suddently in
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.8 (Qt 5.6.1) Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya is not working
And yes, i really need that.
Maybe the only solution is to say "bye bye KDE" and switch to Cinnamon.
Sadly, because i'm using KDE since 3.5 version.
Good things always gone.

perosoft
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:31 am

[SOLVED]Re: KDE shortcut problem

Postby perosoft » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:43 am

I asume is KDE bug.
Example, simply replace

Exec=firefox %u
with
Exec=konsole -e 'firefox %u'

or windows applications

Exec= wine "c:\\codeblocks\\codeblocks.exe"
with
Exec= konsole -e 'wine "c:\\codeblocks\\codeblocks.exe"'


Return to “KDE”