Can Linux Mint Kde use Wayland?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
realsifocopypaste
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:20 am

Can Linux Mint Kde use Wayland?

Post by realsifocopypaste » Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:28 am

#Ask

Can Linux Mint Kde use Wayland?
How to do it? Anyone can show us the tutorial how to use wayland in Linux Mint Kde?

Thanks😊

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7762
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Can Linux Mint Kde use Wayland?

Post by catweazel » Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:14 am

realsifocopypaste wrote:
Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:28 am
#Ask

Can Linux Mint Kde use Wayland?
How to do it? Anyone can show us the tutorial how to use wayland in Linux Mint Kde?
First link from go-ogle: https://community.kde.org/KWin/Wayland
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

Hoser Rob
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4344
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Can Linux Mint Kde use Wayland?

Post by Hoser Rob » Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:36 am

Wayland doesn't really have that much to do with KDE per se, it's at a lower level than DE level. It'e not just another app. Ubuntu, which Mint is based on except for LMDE, probably won't switch to Wayland until 20.04 at least from what I've seen.

The difficulty of changing your existing Mint install to Wayland from X, and the distinct possibility you'll break things in the process, outweigh, for me, any issues caused by not running Wayland. I'm running 18.2 KDE on my laptop and have no intention of changing the graphics stack until it's DAMN well supported by the distro.

Post Reply

Return to “KDE”