Cannot launch script on KDE startup

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
compiler

Cannot launch script on KDE startup

Post by compiler »

Hi all.

I'm trying to launch a shell script when KDE launches, and none of the methods suggested in other posts work. I'm not a newbie user (Linux user since 1996) and I'm starting to think something's broken in KDE startup, or there's some concept here that I don't understand.

System: Linux Mint 18 with KDE 4.

The script is just:

Code: Select all

compiler@laptop: ~/Desktop  $ cat ~/bin/xmodmap_laptop.sh 
#!/bin/bash
xmodmap ~/.Xmodmap-hplaptop

compiler@laptop: ~/Desktop  $ ls -l ~/bin/xmodmap_laptop.sh
-rwxrwxr-x 1 compiler compiler 40 Sep 28 19:42 /home/compiler/bin/xmodmap_laptop.sh
What I tested and didn't work:

- Created symlink in ~/.config/autostart (this is the path configured in System Settings -> Applications -> Locations -> Autostart path).

- Copied the script with +x permissions inside ~/.config/autostart/

- Performed the same operations in ~/.kde/Autostart/ .

- Added the script to autostart in System Settings -> Startup and Shutdown -> Add Program.

- Added the script to autostart in System Settings -> Startup and Shutdown -> Add Program (run in terminal).

- Added the script to autostart in System Settings -> Startup and Shutdown -> Add Script (with symlink checkbox checked).

- Added the script to autostart in System Settings -> Startup and Shutdown -> Add Script (without symlink checkbox checked).

- Tested also to put absolute paths inside the script (/usr/bin/xmodmap /home/compiler/bin/...).

- Replaced the xmodmap command with "touch /tmp/testfile" (and it's never created).

I don't know what I'm doing wrong so I'd appreciate any help on this.

Thanks and best regards
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.